Uncle Dank's Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
This stuff is so fabulously amazingly AWESOME!! My husband won't eat shrimp, so I have to hide seafood in it - I chop up a tuna steak the same size as the diced chicken, he doesn't even know it's in there. One absolute must - you MUST use real andouille, which outside of New Orleans isn't easy to find. I order it online, so it makes this a pretty pricey dish to prepare - but totally worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CrisDee

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
This was a good recipe, I changed it up a little. I made my own stock, Instead of all shrimp I used a seafood mix. It came out a little more fishy than I liked but it was almost gone at the end of dinner so everyone else liked it. I saved some of the leftover broth and made some incredible leftovers with it. Oh and I took out the Okra and added more file.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENEXIA
Home Town: Newark, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
Best Gumbo I've ever made! I made a few changes, of course - omitted the celery (Husband hates it); omitted the parsley (I hate it), and used dried thyme; and soaked the sliced okra in milk to prevent the sliminess. It was already pretty thick, so I added just a tiny pinch of file powder. Very tasty. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by STORMI_O
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
This was wonderful. I saved some time by using a premade roux. It was so easy to make and delisious. I will make many more times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STORMI_O

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winterset, Iowa, USA
Living In: Tekamah, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
I gave this only three stars because while I enjoyed it... it didn't knock my socks off like other gumbos I've had in the past. Here are some things I'd like to note about this recipe: 1. This recipe has okra in it, which is actually considered a thickening agent. (Not just a vegetable.) File (Fee-lay) powder is supposed to be a replacement for okra in the off season. It isn't bad that this recipe has both... just something I thought I'd note. BTW I'm no expert on gumbo I just read this info on several websites while trying to find a recipe. 2. You can't really make the vegetables "golden brown" as the recipe states. This might be obvious to some, but I found it irritating. You just cook the veggies until they're soft, or when the onions are all translucent. 3. I prefer a darker roux but I'm not sure how to make it darker. Some of the other recipes call for 2 cups of beef broth, and only 4 of chicken. Maybe this makes the broth darker the way I liked it when I had it before. 3. Part of what I like about traditional gumbo is that the chicken is usually on the bone, and there are still tails on the shrimp... I recommend buying a big bag of wings and using that in the recipe instead of boneless thighs. (Which I assume is what the recipe wanted but didn't clarify.) Mini drumsticks would be good too. 4. If you're worried about not having enough fat for the roux... don't drain the sausage fat and just add a little more flour. It says 1/4 cup of flour, but you can just eyeball
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pseudolife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vilseck, Bayern, Germany
Living In: Rohnert Park, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2007
This recipe was great. Everyone raved. My kids keep coming back for more! I added crab meat as well. Will definitely make again. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
6th line down: 1 lb okra... This is the real deal. It takes for-freakin'-ever to make, but it's worth it. Make a double batch if you've got a pot big enough. It won't last. YUMMMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Carrollton, Georgia, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2006
Would have given this recipe 5 stars, but you cant have gumbo without okra!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2006
Instead of the spices, I added three tablespoons Zatarain's creole seasoning. Gave it just enough spice. It turned out fabulous! Definetly will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sandusky, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2006
Very good taste! Made a few modifications, but other than that it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mannington, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Seafood Gumbo

Loaded with crab, oysters, and shrimp, here’s a gumbo for seafood lovers!

Chef John’s Duck, Sausage, and Shrimp Gumbo

See how Chef John makes an intensely flavorful gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States