Uncle Dank's Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
This is the best!It looks like alot of work but it goes together easily. I used cooked and peeled shrimp, omitted the file powder and chicken, but used fresh frozen cod cut into chunks. It was delicious even before adding the seafood (just in case your tribe doesn't like fishies). Also, you need to saute the vegies in a couple of batches, it just does't fit all at once.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heatherly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Melbourne, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
This is a nice way of a simple gumbo needed quick in a hurry! Flavor is wonderful. I added OLD SPICE from McCormicks seasonings. A recipe to save.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dwayne Xavier Bull

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: West Hollywood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
For those of you that think okra is just a thickening agent, look up the word "gumbo" in a dictionary and you will find it means "okra" in the first 2 listings. If you don't have okra in gumbo, all you have is a soup, not real gumbo. Also the Creole file' is added at the last. It provides a delicate flavor and is the thickening agent. This receipe makes great GUMBO and let the okra naysayers have their SOUP!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gary Brown

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
I'll give this 4 stars because I've never had gumbo before. Somehow I think there should be tomatoes and corn in here, but like I said I wouldn't know. However, this is an excellent recipe everyone who eats this stew loves it. Took it to the office and almost was beat up by a co-worker who wanted my lunch. For the sausage I have to substitute chorizo which I guess is okay since its a hard sausage, hopefully one day I will get authentic. I also put the shrimp in at the end and cut the fire off since overcooked shrimp tastes like...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GETVICTD

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
I loved this recipe. Making the roux was time-consuming, but very worth it. I might add more vegetables next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2009
I had to add quite a bit more salt to this recipe, and then it was very tasty. I think some crab meat would have made it much better. Also, I had trouble getting the roux to darken enough. After 45 minutes I just continued with the rest of the recipe even though the roux was still very light brown. Using the Andouille sausage really makes a difference in the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lara Gray Maxwell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Decatur, Georgia, USA
Living In: Clarkston, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
This is the real deal. My first time for makeing "gumbo". Wish me luck. Luck Dallas TX
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
This stuff is so fabulously amazingly AWESOME!! My husband won't eat shrimp, so I have to hide seafood in it - I chop up a tuna steak the same size as the diced chicken, he doesn't even know it's in there. One absolute must - you MUST use real andouille, which outside of New Orleans isn't easy to find. I order it online, so it makes this a pretty pricey dish to prepare - but totally worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CrisDee

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
This was a good recipe, I changed it up a little. I made my own stock, Instead of all shrimp I used a seafood mix. It came out a little more fishy than I liked but it was almost gone at the end of dinner so everyone else liked it. I saved some of the leftover broth and made some incredible leftovers with it. Oh and I took out the Okra and added more file.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENEXIA
Home Town: Newark, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
Best Gumbo I've ever made! I made a few changes, of course - omitted the celery (Husband hates it); omitted the parsley (I hate it), and used dried thyme; and soaked the sliced okra in milk to prevent the sliminess. It was already pretty thick, so I added just a tiny pinch of file powder. Very tasty. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Seafood Gumbo

Loaded with crab, oysters, and shrimp, here’s a gumbo for seafood lovers!

Good New Orleans Creole Gumbo

Discover the secrets to true New Orleans gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States