Uncle Dank's Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
I have wanted to try gumbo since our trip to New Orleans. This was my first try and it was definitely worth the time and effort. The roux worked out very well despite the negative comments of some, nice deep brown and tons of flavor with the 30 minute stir. I also threw in some small scallops. My only change for next time would be a bit more spice, it wasn't quite spicy enough. But a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jdeppel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamilton, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
I made this gumbo last night and I must say it was delicious. I added crab meat and I got so many compliments from my coworker! Family loved it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
Super-tasty recipe. My husband is allergic to chicken, so I replaced the chicken thighs with boneless country-style ribs, and the broth with vegetable bullion. Next time I'll try with the suggestion of fresh crab meat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dunedin, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
Making the roux was time-consuming, but was very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
awesome. made it true to recipe with the addition of crushed red pepper. kids ate it up! definitely will make a again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
this reminds me of my moms i dont use okra and i use hillshire farm smoked sausage and tony chacheres creole seasoning
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
My husband and all his friends are from the south, and we are military so they all miss home cooked food. I was nervous, I've never made gumbo before. needless to say they loved this! I made it for a cookout, along with fried fish, ribs, burgers, baked beans, baked mac & cheese, and home-made cornbread! Thanks for a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
Simply amazing! I am from New Orleans and this is the closest I've gotten to a true gumbo! I couldnt get the roux as dark as I wanted but it was still delicious! I added a bay leaf and some creole seasoning! Well done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie3400

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Woodbury, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
Thanks mrboejangles for this recipe. I made this last night for my family and they loved it. I hate when people do this BUT did add an ingrediant - and that was some crab boil seasoning. This recipe was great flavorful and filling. I will add this to my archives and make again soon. Happy eating!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
Added a dash of my special hot sauce from Gladys' Cafe in St. Thomas and this recipe was AWESOME!! Made it as 6 servings instead of 10. Have to pay attention since the written directions are still for 10 servings. Almost got me once, but caught myself just in time. Don't want a watery gumbo!! Added both okra and file and it was just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Seafood Gumbo

Loaded with crab, oysters, and shrimp, here’s a gumbo for seafood lovers!

Chef John’s Duck, Sausage, and Shrimp Gumbo

See how Chef John makes an intensely flavorful gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States