Uncle Dank's Gumbo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
very good don't really need to cook roux so long we added fresh garden tomatoes about five med., a serrano and aneheim pepper15 min before adding shrimp also really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
This recipe was fantastic. Didn't have any shrimp so left that out and it still was delicious. Gumbo I had in the past always had tomatoes so I added a tin of crushed tomatoes to it and added a little less water. Spice level was not as spicy as I wanted but my wife found it acceptable, good thing for hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
This was the first gumbo recipe I ever tried to make and it's been my go-to recipe ever since I discovered it in 2006. The resulting stew is rich, thick, complex and absolutely delicious. I've made it for family functions and potlucks and it's always been a hit. I've made a few alterations over the years that work out well for me. The major change is I sautee the vegetables and meats in steps 1 and 2 in a separate pan and make the roux in the stock pot. Once the roux is made and the water and veg are heating to a boil I dab the excess oil from the bottom of the pan, crank the heat up and deglaze with a mixture of 1/4 cup broth and 1/4 cup wine or sherry, using a fork to scrape off the little browned bits on the bottom of the pan and stirring it around to leech out the flavor. Then I pour it through a sieve into the stock pot. I find this adds just a little bit more complexity to the flavor of the final product.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
if anyone is from Louisiana and you're looking for some "authentic" gumbo, THIS IS IT! I was raised on gumbo, jambalaya and boudain...when I made this, Lawd, it reminded me of home! Gumbo is ambitious and eveybody can't make it. Try this recipe...you'll surprise yourself and your family too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Neena

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
Fantastic gumbo :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
This came out sooooo very good but I probably would only make it a couple times per year since it takes so long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
This is a great recipe to use as a base and easy to change up. I made it using mainly Fletchers meats for a Seattle Seahawks Tailgate and got tons of compliments. I cut open brats and used the insides instead of sausage. I also added bacon. I made the roux out of the grease from the brat meat and bacon. However, I ran out of time to brown the roux as much as I would have liked, but it still tased great. I then added cut up Doubble Smoked Sausages & Hot Link Sausages, the meat from a rotisary chicken & shrimp. There was just enough kick to satisfy everyone who ate it. If you love spice, you can always add more. This is a keeper and don't be afraid to mix up the meats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
Followed recipe exactly. This is a family favorite, but takes long enough that I only make it for special occasions. Totally worth the effort though, and even better the second day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
This was my first time using this recipe and I thought it turned out well. I added crab to mine and a little creole seasoning
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
Was good but needs seasoning. I prefer Merwin's Shrimp Gumobo (also on this site). Merwin's needs more seasoning as well but I liked his method of throwing the chicken in the pot, bones and all. I got more chicken off the bone that way. The two recipes taste nearly the same, I just prefer Merwin's method.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lysa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage and Chicken Gumbo

Watch Chef John make a classic New Orleans gumbo.

Seafood Gumbo

Loaded with crab, oysters, and shrimp, here’s a gumbo for seafood lovers!

Chef John’s Duck, Sausage, and Shrimp Gumbo

See how Chef John makes an intensely flavorful gumbo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States