Uncle Bill's Chicken Strips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
Very good! Made my own buttermilk with milk and white vinegar and decided to skip the butter. Very tasty and easy to prepare. Great weeknight dish. Thank you :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
These were just okay. A-lot of seasoning and work for not much of a taste. The adults in our household did not like it much and had to dip it in either ranch or bbq sauce to eat it, but the kids in the household just loved it. So maybe it is an adult taste-bud thing (smile). I will say I did add butter to the bottom of my pan and on top of my chicken strips prior to cooking and they did not get soggy at all but came out nice and crisp. I also let them back just a few minutes longer than recommended. Not sure I will make again, I will first try other chicken strip recipes on this site first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2009
I love this recipe & method! I only changed it in that I "eyeballed" the measurements, but I know I poured extra buttermilk in the bag. [Oh - I used a gallon bag to squish the egg & knead the buttermilk into the mix - less dishes!] I also let the chicken pieces "soak" for awhile while I tended to other things (checking homework, putting dishes away, etc.). This was a big hit & I've made it twice now. One method change: I brushed some melted butter on the bottom of a 1/2 sheet pan before I put the coated chicken on, then drizzled the rest of the butter on top. I used my convection setting & baked for longer than called for until I got the browned look I was going for (I flipped a few times), but I think the buttermilk really worked because once 'crispy browned & delicious' on the outside, the meat itself was still very delicate, tender & moist - My seven year INCREDIBLY PICKY EATER ate really good tonight! (In spite of the garlic and dill which she is not accustomed to.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
This was good but nothing new.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by readernut

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Hermann, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
My family found this "ok". I followed other suggestions-brought the heat up to 425 degrees for 30 minutes; 15 minutes both sides on a sprayed cooling rack on top another rack with aluminum foil. I may try to fry this the next time I make it. Had good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
This was good, not great but good. We followed the instructions and the suggestions, but it just wasn't as good as we would have liked...probably best for young eaters with limited taste buds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
I am giving this recipe five stars although I made some changes (minor?) to the recipe to my liking and scale of my household...I used chicken tenderloins instead of chicken breast. I also dredged the tenderloins in seasoned flour first, then in the egg buttermilk mixture, and finally in seasoned breadcrumbs (seasoned myself with garlic powder, pepper, and other salt free seasonings. I put the tenderloins in a 425F oven for 30 minutes. 5 minutes longer they would have been DRY!!! I digress, I cooked them on a rack sprayed with cooking spray. I got a little nervous and added a drizzle of butter after I turned them over at 15 minutes. I didn't need to they were absolutely delicious.Crunchy, flavorful, and tender on the inside... They didn't need any thing really but I have a grown-up sauce from TJ's that I dipped them in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
We made these for a quick dinner the other night and weren't pleased with the end result. The batter lacked flavour entirely and the butter just ended up making things really soggy. They weren't terrible, but bland, soggy chicken strips aren't my idea of good food....sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
Not bad. The flavor was good but despite cutting back on the butter, the breading didn't crisp up nearly as much as I hoped. Next time, I'll take another reviewer's suggestion, and bake them on a cooling rack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
This was an amazing recipe! We loved it! (I served it with homemade honey mustard and it was also a big hit!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Tender Pan-Fried Chicken Breasts

They go from stovetop to oven, and come out super moist and tender.

Chef John's Chicken and Mushrooms

Make a delicious dinner with just two basic ingredients! Technique is the trick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States