Uncle Bill's Chicken Strips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
OK, I screwed up! But, they still turned out great. I ended up making chicken strips "Local" style. That is, here on the Big Island you don't see chicken breast served that much. It is usually thighs and legs! So when I went to the store to get the chicken I bought boneless thighs instead of breasts! LOL! The spices were right on and the meat was so juicy and tender! served them up with Uncle Bills Sweet and Sour sauce from this site. Great combination. I may even try it with the white meat next time! A Hui Ho!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Royall

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Keaau, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: May 27, 2011
Great recipe all around! Definitely a favorite with the family. I use 2% milk instead of buttermilk, panko break crumbs and leave out the dried dill weed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orting, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
Pretty standard recipe (except for the dill). I usually don't make my chicken fingers with buttermilk, but I had some to use up so I searched and got this recipe. The other review is correct...don't use butter...use a cooking spray and place the rack higher in the oven. I also added some balsmic vinger to the egg/buttermilk mixture to bring up the flavor and used italian bread seasoning instead of dill to match the flavors. Any homemade recipe is way better then buying those frozen patty things! And you can up the health factor by using whole wheat bread crumbs & lowfat buttermilk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
I thought this chicken tasted pretty good. However, I couldn't get it to brown like in the photos. I baked it in the oven as the recipe stated. Any advice for me, I would love to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SweetBasil
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
Very good, fairly easy, and sort of guilt-free considering they're baked instead of fried. Of course that went out the window once I poured homemade buffalo sauce over them as a Super Bowl appy. Thank you Uncle Bill!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
Very good. I tried it without the butter. My husband said it was "really good" and he is a hard one to please!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tiffanyalice1030
Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
i LOVED this. crunchy enough where it feels like you're eating something fried. i just used a package of chicken breasts and cut them in half. i also used 1 C of breadcrumbs instead of the 1.5 it calls for. there would have been even more wasted had i used the recipe amt. this will be a regular recipe for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
Very good. Make sure you season the egg mixer with salt. This helps to give the meat more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laureenaonline

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elizabeth, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
I was doubtful about the dill weed in the breading, and was tempted to leave it out, but I try to make a recipe as close as possible to how it's written the first time. I'm glad I didn't omit it, as it made all the difference in this recipe. These have fabulous flavor and tenderness. I will confess I did leave off the butter drizzle at the end, and just gave them a light spray with olive oil. That's really all they need. And I did make your sweet and sour sauce, Uncle Bill, to go with these. I would definitely recommend it. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
I thought these were pretty good, and my 2.5 yr old twins gobbled them up! I didn't use buttermilk (didn't have any), followed another reviewer's advice and used milk with splash of lemon juice.. also foil lined my dish. I didn't use butter, just sprayed dish well with Pam olive oil, then sprayed the top of the strips with some more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic-Lemon Double Stuffed Chicken

See how to make cheese-stuffed chicken breasts drenched with a lemon-butter sauce

Easy Italian Chicken II

Discover a terrific shortcut to flavorful Italian-inspired baked chicken breasts.

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States