Unbelievably Easy Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Lyn
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
Made this for Recipe Group. Made as per instructions. My only problem was there was a large clump of uncooked (dry) cake mix in the center. I wasn't going to let this defeat me. I mixed it up (only on the top) with the rest of the partially cooked cake and let go for another hour (4 hours total). The ooey gooey deliciousness was worth the wait.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glen Burnie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
So Easy and Sooooo Good. Enjoyed this with Vanilla Ice Cream, made exactly like recipe said and had no problems. This was a first for me making dessert in my slow cooker, but it won't be the last for me.....thanks for a nice recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMY

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
Cannot wait to try something so easy! How can you go wrong!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alicia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Hanover, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Boca Raton, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
When I made this cake I mixed the pineapple juice and butter mixture with the dry cake mix before placing it in the crock. It came out Fantastic. Adding is must though. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spangler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sassyoldlady
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
Made for Recipe Group. I was a little skeptical about this...cake in a slow cooker? I used a 21 oz can of pineapple, but only half of the juice from it. I microwaved the butter and then stirred the juice in. Layered the pineapple, cherry pie filling, sprinkled the cake mix over it, and poured the juice/butter on it. After about 2 hours there were a few spots still dry on the top so I stirred them gently, put the lid back and slapped my hands to keep from messing with it any further. I kept tapping the top to see if it was springy after the 3 hours, but this doesn't set like a regular cake. Finally turned it off, grabbed a big spoon and plated a portion. Hubby had two. Obviously it was pretty good! Very wet like I imagine one of those molten cakes to be. But yummy good! Really sweet from the juice poured over the cake mix. I did use my 7 qt crockpot and it turned out fine. A smaller crock would most likely result in a higher cake. Stored the leftovers in a flat tupperware container, used spatula to get out of the crock. Leftovers warmed in microwave were just as good. This would be a good potluck spoon cake. I probably would not make this for at home, 3 hours is just too long to wait for cake! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sassyoldlady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
I love this cake, I mix the butter and pineapple juice with the cake mix ahead of time and layer it like the directions said left it for 3 hours and the house smells so good. And the cake even better then I thought please try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
I make this same cake but I bake it in the oven for 45 to 50 minutes @ 350. It you are careful in pouring the butter over the cake mix, there is no dry area. I also add chopped pecans. You can also use apple filling and a yellow cake mix. You can also use no sugar filling and a sugar free cake mix for those people who can't consume sugar like myself and the taste is fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
So easy and very very yummy! I wish it were just a tad bit more cake like, but I am not a good enough baker to know how to tweak it. We will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
I made this and used the suggestion BusyCook made--I poked holes in the mix with a chop stick before pouring the butter mixture over it. My husband took it to work to share with his work group. It was a big hit, only one serving left--for me. It was moist throughout, very rich and balanced by the addition of whipped cream. Thank you for a great easy dessert recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
This desert was wonderful. It was more like a cherry brownie with pineapple . I used a 15 oz can of pineapple and I followed others advice and poked holes in the batter. It was even better the second day when I heated up the leftovers. Next time, I will completely stir the cake before serving. It was not pretty so be sure to add vanilla ice cream. (I also used devils food cake instead of plain chocolate cake)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Chocolate Cake in a Slow Cooker

Bake a cake in the slow cooker? You bet!

Black Forest Cake I

See how to make and decorate a rich, decadent chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States