Unbelievably Easy Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
I make this same cake but I bake it in the oven for 45 to 50 minutes @ 350. It you are careful in pouring the butter over the cake mix, there is no dry area. I also add chopped pecans. You can also use apple filling and a yellow cake mix. You can also use no sugar filling and a sugar free cake mix for those people who can't consume sugar like myself and the taste is fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sassyoldlady
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
Made for Recipe Group. I was a little skeptical about this...cake in a slow cooker? I used a 21 oz can of pineapple, but only half of the juice from it. I microwaved the butter and then stirred the juice in. Layered the pineapple, cherry pie filling, sprinkled the cake mix over it, and poured the juice/butter on it. After about 2 hours there were a few spots still dry on the top so I stirred them gently, put the lid back and slapped my hands to keep from messing with it any further. I kept tapping the top to see if it was springy after the 3 hours, but this doesn't set like a regular cake. Finally turned it off, grabbed a big spoon and plated a portion. Hubby had two. Obviously it was pretty good! Very wet like I imagine one of those molten cakes to be. But yummy good! Really sweet from the juice poured over the cake mix. I did use my 7 qt crockpot and it turned out fine. A smaller crock would most likely result in a higher cake. Stored the leftovers in a flat tupperware container, used spatula to get out of the crock. Leftovers warmed in microwave were just as good. This would be a good potluck spoon cake. I probably would not make this for at home, 3 hours is just too long to wait for cake! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sassyoldlady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
Some of the cake mix did not combine with the butter/juice mixture or cherries, so I stirred the entire contents of the slow cooker and ended up with a yummy, chocolatey-gooey dessert. It was even better with a scoop of vanilla ice cream. Although it tasted good, the consistency was sticky and the dessert wasn’t attractive, so I won't serve it to company without tweaking. Next time I'll try combining the cake mix with the butter/juice mixture before spreading over the cherries in the crock-pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lenenski Family
Home Town: Lilburn, Georgia, USA
Living In: Forney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
I didn't have any problems with this recipe--I didn't stir the butter/juice into the cake mix but simply poured it over. There were no unmixed portions. The cake part was densely chocolate and brownie like in texture. It was very good. Very good. I would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
This was an easy midweek dessert. The kids liked it but it is very sweet. I mixed the butter/juice mixture with the cake batter before pouring over fruit. Cake was moist not gooey like the other reviews. Note: Use a large crockpot because the cake will rise. Served with whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Owings Mills, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
The combination would have been good together, but this cake turned out nasty! I took it to a Sunday dinner and it was a flop! Maybe fix it a different way. Sorry :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
I love this cake, I mix the butter and pineapple juice with the cake mix ahead of time and layer it like the directions said left it for 3 hours and the house smells so good. And the cake even better then I thought please try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
So easy and very very yummy! I wish it were just a tad bit more cake like, but I am not a good enough baker to know how to tweak it. We will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
I tried this out following recipe exactly. There were areas of the cake that was still dry powder. It was like eating the mix from the box. Maybe it is the difference of crock pots
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
I made this and used the suggestion BusyCook made--I poked holes in the mix with a chop stick before pouring the butter mixture over it. My husband took it to work to share with his work group. It was a big hit, only one serving left--for me. It was moist throughout, very rich and balanced by the addition of whipped cream. Thank you for a great easy dessert recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Chocolate Cake in a Slow Cooker

Bake a cake in the slow cooker? You bet!

Black Forest Cake I

See how to make and decorate a rich, decadent chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States