Unbelievable Squash Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Tanya
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
Basically, Cream of Chicken(or any other cream) makes almost anything taste great. Pretty good recipe. I really liked it. Tasty way to serve up your squash! I didn't use any sour cream as I just didn't have it but I found the casserole rich enough without it. Added 2 cups of chopped carrots. I also took the advice to add half of the breaded stuffing in with the casserole. All of it on top would of been too much. This goes into it might make again category.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
kids loved it. I did not use cheese. It wasn't missed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FISHGURU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
This is spectacular! My family loved this dish at Thanksgiving and I will serv it again at Christmas. I was asked for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cochrane, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
Awesome dish. I modified it by using ritz crackers instead of the stuffing mix. My mom doesn't care for squash but she sure loved this dish. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
I thought they were a little bland. And there was to much bread crumbs on top. Next time I will season it more and use bread crumbs that are crushed and not put as much on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ozark, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
I use zucchini and yellow squash. I shread the squash and mix everything together. Leave a little of the stuffing mix whole to crunch up smaller and sprinkle over the top before baking. Very good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
Yum! I loved this dish. I used butternut squash, a sweet potato, doubled the cheese and it turned out just perfect. Next time I will add more variety to the casserole (include some carrots, potatoes, and zucchini) and find better stuffing for the top. I used stove top due to time constraints for prep and noted that it had some bad ingredients that I try to steer clear of (high fructose corn syrup, hydrogenated oils, etc.) Other than that, this dish will be made many times over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
This was a delicious recipe! My only criticism is that it is a little vague in some areas for a non-cook like me. For example, it says to use 3 crookneck squash, but does not mention how much squash, exactly, that would be. I had one butternut squash, and was not sure what the relative size of a crookneck squash is to a butternut squash. I tried the recipe anyway, and it seemed to work well with one butternut squash. I also used half the sour cream, and a couple of tablespoons of cream cheese. I have tried this in a few recipes which call for sour cream, and I find it adds a nice sweetness without requiring much cream cheese at all. Everything else I did as suggested, and it was a hit! Because I did not mash the squash, but just mixed it well with the other ingredients, the casserole came out with almost a macaroni and cheese consistency. I highly recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
Excellent and easy! I, too, added the about 4 oz of the 6 oz pouch of stuffing mix to the squash/onion mixture and it came out creamy good! The 2 oz of stuffing mixed with the cheddar cheese gave it a wonderful crunchy topping. Highly recommended as a great alternative to potatoes for a side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Independence, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
This was good ! Next time I will use more squash , as this was very saucy . Thank you , MCOATES .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Sturgis, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States