Unbelievable Spinach Calzones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
I made one as stated in the recipe so that I could review it honestly (except using a can of Pizza Dough). The rest we had "build your own Calzone" night. I had sauteed mushrooms, canadian bacon, and Italian sausage. For us the meat one was better. I have enough of everything to make myself lunch tomorrow. I will spread the top with garlic butter next time before cooking (the top was hard & dry). Also, mine did not need the whole cooking time. Really easy quick supper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
142 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2006
Delicious! I followed the recipe except for the dough. I used Pillsbury Refridgerated Pizza Dough (one roll made 4 square calzones). It was really yummy & since I didn't have to roll out dough, it was really a quick meal to put together. Near the end of the cook time (it was definitely less than 30 minutes) I brushed egg white on the top to give it that glazed texture. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
111 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2006
mmmmmmm, i made these delicious calzones as written with the exception of adding a small sauteed onion to the ricotta mixture. homemade whole wheat pizza dough compliments this recipe even more. thanks wheatfields!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLIE30

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2006
Excellent recipe! I used two packages of spinach and only one egg, my usual garlic/onion powders and Pillsbury pizza dough in the tube instead of the bread dough. It rolled out so nicely too. I brushed the top with egg white and sprinkled with parm and garlic powder. Marinara sauce on the side completed this very pretty picture. Family loved it and thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2007
Wow! Great Recipe guys!! Nice one for the Recipe of the Week! Now, I have made these a few times and I found that they were even BETTER when you added about half a tablespoon of Mayo mixed with a sprinkle of chili powder and chives. TRUST me, It may sound wierd but you WON'T be dissapointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2006
These were pretty good. I used fresh spinach and sauteed it in just a little olive oil with mushrooms, garlic, and onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2006
I too used the pizza crust which made 4 calzones and cooked in about 20 minutes. I halfed everything except the spinach and seasonings and added lots of garlic and some diced cooked chicken (because my husband won't eat anything without meat). It was quick and easy and really good served with some marinara on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2006
I modified this a little bit to get a pretty good dinner set up. I made my own dough in the breadmaker, added onion and garlic powder, as well as an egg yolk to the cheese mixture, and used drained, canned spinach instead of frozen. I liked how these tasted, although I think I might like some meat in them next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2007
These were good. The hardest part is working with the dough. The dough needs to be at room temp, it is so much easier to work with when it's not cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BCMILLER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sharon, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Norton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2006
I thought this was okay but my kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 221) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Spinach Stuffed Chicken Breast

These bacony, cheesy chicken breasts make an elegant main course.

How to Make Spinach and Artichoke Dip

See how to make the ultimate cheesy party dip!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States