Unbelievable Spinach Calzones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
I make something pretty similar to this, but have a few additions that really make it pop. 1) Decrease the Italian seasoning or skip it completely. Instead, brush some pesto onto the inside of the dough before you roll it up (store bought Progresso works- cheap and easy). 2) Instead of frozen bread dough, you can buy fresh pizza dough in the cheese or deli section of most grocery stores. Tastes amazing. 3) Ricotta is optional. Just the spinach and mozzarella combo with the spinach works great as long as you serve it warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Foothillsnerd
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
Makes too much filling. Egg once mixed with cheeses does not store well in a fridge for any length of time so if using the egg, mix it as a 2nd mixing stage once you know how much filling you're actually going to use. Stock recipe sorta bland, this is one to really get creative on, but is a solid base point for making something that when cooked should look awfully similar to a calzone. Ideas: Dill? Salt? Gouda? Colby-Jack? Meats? buttered garlic? Add just about anything you wanna add into the mix to add an edge to it (The cheeses are mild aka bland) would be my recommendation for other people cooking it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foothillsnerd

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
So delicious. Worth the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
I'll make it again, but needs a dipping sauce or something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
these were not as easy to make as the recipe makes it sound, but they tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by citigirl55

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Crosse, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
The filling was excellent. As some of the other reviewers suggested I used Refrigerated Pizza Dough but wish I hadn't. It was so salty! Next time I will make my own dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
These were tasteless and unedible. After spending hours making them I ended up trowing the whole batch in the trash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by winnykins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
My family loved this recipe! Especially my kids. My daughter actually went back for seconds, which she never does! The only thing I did different was use fresh chopped spinach. Thanks for a wonderful recipe and great way to get the kids to eat a green veggie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
The basic idea of this is good. I didn't like the spinach so I am going to try it with other things mixed in (ham, green peppers and pineapple).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marshgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sandy, Utah, USA
Living In: Glenwood Springs, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
I've never made calzones before.. so, I was nervous going in. I added a tablespoon of chopped garlic. The calzones turned out lovely. Looked very presentable. My boyfriend suggested adding Italian sausage. Along with another reviewer, I think adding mushrooms would be phenomenal. Just need to find your own taste preference. Overall, I loved this recipe and will definitely be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 220) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Spinach Stuffed Chicken Breast

These bacony, cheesy chicken breasts make an elegant main course.

How to Make Spinach and Artichoke Dip

See how to make the ultimate cheesy party dip!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States