Unbelievable Spinach Calzones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
I didn't realize the recipe called for 2 lbs of dough; I had only bought 1 lb, but everything still came out fine. I made one long (log) calzone, and the top/middle was busting at the seams, but of course it didn't change the taste and just made it look that more appealing. I also added garlic powder to the filling but that would be optional to someone else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Malden, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
Very good, very easy-my kind of cooking. ;o) Tried the pizza crust and it worked perfectly. The elasticity of the dough let it stretch easily without tearing. Thank you, Wheatfields, for the delicious filling. Thank you, reviewers, for the pizza crust suggestion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paducah, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
I really waned to like these, but I found them nothing special. I made them using the whole wheat and honey pizza dough recipe from this site instead of the canned dough the recipe calls for, but I doubt it made that much difference. I don't think I'll make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
My kids (age 5,7) actually made these with a little help! We forgot the parmesan cheese and only had 1 TBS italian seasoning left and they still came fanstastic. I would probably stick with the 1 TBS seasoning as any more might have been too much. Great way to sneak little spinach in their diet! We added pepperoni to half of them and we sprayed the tops with a little butter spray about 10 min before they were done. Next time will try with sausage and mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
Made these using pizza crust made in the bread machine. Added one large clove garlic. They were delish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suzanne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cahokia, Illinois, USA
Living In: Matthews, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
this was an excellent recipe. i goes well with pasta sauce on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kdockeney
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
This is such an easy recipe! I agree it needed some extra spice: I used more Italian seasoning and some garlic salt. I saved one egg white and brushed it and extra garlic salt on the tops of the calzones before baking. Great recipe to share with my vegetarian roommate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kdockeney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
Being a poor college student, I made some substitutions and they still turned out incredibly delicious! I put in one package of softened cream cheese instead of ricotta, which I know is no proper substitution, but it made the mix creamy like it needed to be, and it turned out yummy! Also, I used powdered parmesan, which works if you don't have the grate-able stuff on hand. And then I added the garlic salt and onion powder as well as cooked, cubed chicken. I brushed the outside with butter and sprinkled with parmesan, as someone else said. My husband told me we need to make these again really soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
Giving this four instead of five b/c I doctored up the filling a bit. I added sauteed garlic, onions, mushrooms, and pepperoni to the spinach and cheese mixture. Used Pillsbury's frozen pizza dough, per another reviewer's recommendation. Brushed an egg wash over the calzones before popping them in the oven for about 20 minutes. They looked and tasted great. Really easy, fun, tasty dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
This makes a lot of filling--maybe too much. I added 1 T of Italian seasoning and 3 cloves of garlic to the filling. I brushed an olive oil, salt, Italian seasoning, onion powder, and garlic powder combo onto the tops of the calzones, and then sprinkled parmeasan cheese over it. Baked them on a pizza stone. 4.5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sailshonan

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 51-60 (of 224) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Chef John's Ham and Cheese Calzones

Exquisite homemade calzones loaded with lots of quality ham and cheese.

Spinach Stuffed Chicken Breast

These bacony, cheesy chicken breasts make an elegant main course.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States