Unbelievable Spinach Calzones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
We loved these versatile calzones. I added black olives and canadian bacon, but the options are endless. The filling oozed out of mine. Maybe I filled them too full, or didn't seal the edges enough. They were still fabulous. I used my favorite pizza dough recipe and we dipped them in pizza sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Fegler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Living In: Chesterfield, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
I followed the recipe except that I added a cup of feta and used pizza dough instead of bread dough. This was good but a work in progress...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
This is a really good recipe! I added chicken to it. I only added about 1/2 of the ricotta cheese. I also separated the dough into smaller rectangles because when I have made calzones in the past with the dough just cut in half it seemed to be too much dough. This way turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
These came out delicious. I followed the recipe exact, except for the dough. I made my own pizza dough but next time to save time I will buy the store bought dough. They were really tasty and I even ate the calzone cold for lunch and was really good. will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
I had a couple friends over for dinner and I decided to use this as a base recipe (with the exception of using pizza dough). I ended up adding some onion and garlic powder in with the mixture as well as chicken and bacon. I also brushed the tops with egg whites when it was close to being done and sprinkled garlic salt on top. And because I'm not the biggest fan of marinara sauce, I provided the choice of marinara or alfredo sauce to dip it in. It was AMAZING! My only complaint was after I added the bacon and chicken, there was far too much. My 2 friends and I each had a large calzone and then I ended up bringing the left overs to my sisters house for a dinner party the next night and we made mini calzones for appetizers. I would say we made at least 20 three inch calzones before running out of pizza dough and I still had quite a bit of filling left. I don't usually cook so I didn't realize how much 3 chicken breasts and some bacon would add to the total amount of filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
Very good. I made a few exceptions. I only used one egg and added a lot of fresh basil. Instead of using frozen spinach, I used fresh, chopped spinach. Added 4 large cloves of garlic. To assemble, put a spoon of sauce on the dough, heaping pile of fresh spinach and two scoops of cheese mixture. Will definitely make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Happy Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tuesday
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
I made 4 large calzones instead of 8. They turned out gigantic and yummy. Two things I would do differently next time is make sure I had some red sauce/marinara for dipping and I would definitely add mushrooms and onions to the mixture. I will also stick to the recipe about making 8 as no one could finish the jumbo versions. This recipe could easily be altered to anyones preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tuesday

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Leelanau, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
My 9 year old son made this for a Mother's Day menu @ Daycare with the other kids. This dish was their Main Dish for the luncheon and it was a hit! Have to try this myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
These were delicious and so easy to make. Next time I will make a little less filling, though. Sauce on the side for dipping is a must!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookline, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
Good, but filling not spectacular. Bread dough a nice and easy way to make calzones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 223) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Spinach Stuffed Chicken Breast

These bacony, cheesy chicken breasts make an elegant main course.

How to Make Spinach and Artichoke Dip

See how to make the ultimate cheesy party dip!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States