Unbelievable Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
These are the most amazing rolls I've ever had and my husband and daughter agree! I was a bit confused with the directions so I fussed my way through, took advice from other comments, and can't believe how wonderful they came out. I added the milk mixture to the flour and mixed it a little, then added melted butter and mixed all the way. I needed quite a bit of extra flour to get it less sticky and then let it rise in the oven with the light on. After 30 minutes, I took the dough out but couldn't roll it because it was still too sticky. I did the best I could and figured they'd look like drop bisquits. They came out awesome though, just huge. They browned beautifully but I still sprayed butter on them when I took them out of the oven. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
One thing I did was to use an instant read thermomater to check my milk/water/sugar mixture before adding my yeast. I made sure it was around 110 degrees and my eggs at room temperature as well. I put my oven on the lowest setting before making my rolls and warm the bowls as well. I also sifted the salt into the flour using a large, fine sieve mixing it through with a whisk to get it thoroughly mixed in. I also used real unsalted butter instead of margarine as I don't care to use that much margarine. Sure it's more fat, but it's healthier than the chemicals in margarine. These proofed well and needed very little kneading. They came out light and fluffy and nice, shiny brown from an egg wash. I froze some as it made too much for us to use up in just a few days, but the ones I had left over that I only refrigerated were actually better the second and third days! I can't wait to make cinnamin rolls and savory rolls with this recipe. Good recipe to play with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pearl Watson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
added 1 tbsp honey and used dazedoo's method to make these rolls, they are pretty quick to make, as far as breads go I made half rolls and put the other half of the dough in a loaf pan. I sliced up the loaf bread and make some yummy croutons with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
I tried the recipe twice and was disappointed each time. The end result was not light and fluffy, maybe the yeast I used was out of date. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
I love to make rolls/bread and have tried dozens of recipes. This is unbelievable. Do exactly what it says and do not let any liquid get too hot - over 120 degrees. It is not as warm as you think so get a therometer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shari

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
Unbelievably awful. Made 2 times and cam out bad both times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ozark, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
The directions are weird with pouring the liquid into the flour and letting it sit w/o touching it, but I've made this recipe a few times now and it's foolproof! Rolls turn out beautifully! Make sure your liquid isn't scalding and recipe should work. I let mine rest each time for 30 mins. Putting them on a flat baking sheet makes a nice rounder roll, while putting in a 13 x 9 pan makes them rise taller as they are more squished and makes stunning tall, fluffy rolls. I use my kitchenaid stand mixer. When it's time to mix and knead I mix with the regular attachment just until it comes together, then I switch to the dough hook and literally only knead for about 20 seconds. Works for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
This is a delicious recipe, but the sugar is way too much. I cut it down to 1/8C which was still a nice sweet flavor. I actually prefer savory rolls so I would cut the sugar down even further next time. If you like a touch of sweetness, stick with 1/8C it's perfect (in my opinion). Also - I made the dough in my BREAD MACHINE for those of you wondering if you can successfully do that :) It worked like a charm! Thank you Sherlie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Passion4food

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
I just tried this recipe today my very first rolls ever! They turned out quite well but were yeasty tasting and not as light as I expected. But for my first try they were stellar! I did find them a bit too sweet so I will omit most of the sugar the next time round.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pepsitwist

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
This is a very good recipe. Something fast and easy to cook up. My children were very impress on how good they were. My mom and sister even enjoyed them that they have asked me to make them for each of our family dinners. Im not a huge bread maker but I am when it comes to these.. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 517) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Rosemary Pull-Apart Dinner Rolls

See how to make rosemary pull-apart rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States