Unbelievable Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
I was the baker at a middle school for a few years and made some amazing rolls and have been searching for a good roll recipe since...well, I made these today and they taste exactly like those did! I did not change a thing! I like to pat the dough out slightly and cut it into portions before shaping into rolls. I put them in an oiled 9x13 pan so they'd rise high and they sure did! I made 20 big, fluffy rolls...the only recipe I'll need from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
I tried this recipe for the first time tonight, the rolls came out looking beautiful, they rose very well. They were very light and fluffy, the only disappointment was that they were much sweeter than my family likes them. I will definitely use this recipe base again, but with less sugar. Overall a great recipe, these are great if you've a sweet tooth. I'm satisfied because this is the first roll recipe I've made that has turned out with a roll texture, thank you Sherlie for the wonderful recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaBekah
Home Town: Oakdale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
Amazing.... This is the first time I have ever cooked bread... My family loves these rolls!! Thank you for sharing your recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybugbck

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
So easy....didn't change anything....incredible and my family loved them to the last yummy bite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
These were good, i did add the salt into the flour though as suggested by another review.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montour, Iowa, USA
Living In: Basalt, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
Great yeasty rolls ,easy to make , not heavy which is why tryed it .... Its a keeper ..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
I thought Angie's Perfect Dinner rolls ( also from this site) was very good... But this one is even better! So soft and fluffy even when cold. After reading reviews, instead of warming the milk mixture in the saucepan, I just popped it in the microwave. That way, I know it won't be too hot for the yeast. Yeast will die in too hot surroundings and your rolls won't rise and may end up with brick hard rolls. I find this recipe easier too. Not too much kneading required. Sorry, Angie, your recipe been replaced :P
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DemonicMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
Eh,my fault but it was my first try. Made a good glorified biscuit. Wish the recipe was beginner friendly lol. Will try again some other time. Til then i have 2 dozen edible biscuits in my freezer =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
EXCELLENT rolls! Very easy recipe, and I am a seasoned bread baker. This recipe makes VERY large rolls if you make 16 as per the recipe. One could easily get 24 smaller rolls from this. The taste was GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
These were awesome, but I did make them the more tradition way. I heated up the water and a teaspoon of the sugar in the microwave for one minute and fifteen seconds. I then I added the yeast (a packet) and stirred it to make sure it was all dissolved. I waited for about 20 minutes for that to rise/foam up, then I heated up the milk and butter and salt. I put it in the microwave for about one minute and 15 seconds, just enough for the butter to melt. Make sure the mixture isn't too hot or it will kill your yeast. Then I added the milk & butter/salt mixture to the yeast and water, then I added the eggs and the rest of the sugar and I mixed it by stirring it. After that I add the flour (I used self rising flour) about a half cup at a time stirring to blend it until it is all in there. This mixture is very sticky, so I coat my hands with butter or oil and it makes it not stick to my hands while I knead it with my hands for about six to eight minutes. Then I let it rise in a dark warm place. I usually warm up a cup of water in the microwave for two minutes, then shove the dough (in its bowl) in there with it for about 30 to 60 minutes (all up to your patience). Then I fold the dough down, some people call it punching down, but I feel that is too rough. Then I let it rise again for about 30 minutes, then I take it out and form it into ball, while coating my hands again. I cooked it in the oven for 18 minutes. Turned out perfect, fluffy, but dense enough with great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 537) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Rosemary Pull-Apart Dinner Rolls

See how to make rosemary pull-apart rolls from scratch.

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States