Unbelievable Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
EXCELLENT rolls! Very easy recipe, and I am a seasoned bread baker. This recipe makes VERY large rolls if you make 16 as per the recipe. One could easily get 24 smaller rolls from this. The taste was GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
These were awesome, but I did make them the more tradition way. I heated up the water and a teaspoon of the sugar in the microwave for one minute and fifteen seconds. I then I added the yeast (a packet) and stirred it to make sure it was all dissolved. I waited for about 20 minutes for that to rise/foam up, then I heated up the milk and butter and salt. I put it in the microwave for about one minute and 15 seconds, just enough for the butter to melt. Make sure the mixture isn't too hot or it will kill your yeast. Then I added the milk & butter/salt mixture to the yeast and water, then I added the eggs and the rest of the sugar and I mixed it by stirring it. After that I add the flour (I used self rising flour) about a half cup at a time stirring to blend it until it is all in there. This mixture is very sticky, so I coat my hands with butter or oil and it makes it not stick to my hands while I knead it with my hands for about six to eight minutes. Then I let it rise in a dark warm place. I usually warm up a cup of water in the microwave for two minutes, then shove the dough (in its bowl) in there with it for about 30 to 60 minutes (all up to your patience). Then I fold the dough down, some people call it punching down, but I feel that is too rough. Then I let it rise again for about 30 minutes, then I take it out and form it into ball, while coating my hands again. I cooked it in the oven for 18 minutes. Turned out perfect, fluffy, but dense enough with great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
well just pulled these out of the oven, and had my 1st one, and boy are they good! This was my 1st time making homemade buns of any kind, and im really proud! I did add the salt with the flour based on other reviews, and also used butter in place of margerine(just cuz i prefer butter in any sort of baking). Before popping them in the oven i did a egg wash on them aswell. I got 24 decent sized buns! Will definatly be making these again, maybe adding some cheese and or bacon to the dough before shaping them into rolls, for something different, or topping them with honey for a sweeter roll.Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef V

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2013
Really good! They are a little heavy but their great! I mad honey cinnamon butter to go with them, it was fabulous I've already mad the twice this week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
This rolls came out perfect the first time I made them!!! The only thing I changed was butter instead of margarine. I did however place a pan of water in the oven, with the rolls rolls while baking. I made an egg wash to go on them right before baking them. They came out shiny. I gave them to my Husbands boss!! I am going to make another batch for us. In a 9" by 13" it made 15 large roll!! Just follow the directions and they will come out perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
As written, a hard recipe to make successfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aimeelynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
I had tried to make rolls and failed. I made these and my kids loved them. thankyou for giving me a recipe that is fail safe. donnaf
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
I have made this recipe many times over about a 14 year period, It is absolutely a wonderful recipe for rolls and very versatile, I usually make a crescent type roll with it by rolling 1/2 the dough into a circle, then using my pizza cutter to cut the circle of dough in half then in quarters and depending on the size of the circle cut quarters into thirds or halves. If you want them more like Croissants then you can make flaky layers by spreading butter (not margarine) on the circle then folding in half spread butter then fold again repeat then roll into a circle again, you will have layers and the rolls will be more flaky. When you cut the circle into pieces and are ready to make your rolls roll from the larger side of the wedge. make sure than the point is down against the pan, Baking time is about the same 12 to 15 minutes watch closely after 12 minutes, ovens vary. Enjoy, we do, my Grandson requests these rolls. When making I follow the recipe exactly, except for what I choose as a method of presentation. ALTHOUGH I do after reading some of the other reviews agree that leaving the salt out until after the proof or proofing the yeast first with out the addition of salt. Makes for a better dough. The possibilities with this recipe are absolutely endless it is very versatile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
Great recipe for experienced cooks and those not in high altitude areas. I made them and substituted only one thing...margarine is out of the question. Using butter means it actually bakes into the rolls much better, IMHO. I really like recipes for experienced cooks so this was quite simple to me but it is not for someone who doesn't know what temperature "warm" is for adding yeast. Also, the temperature in your kitchen and the humidity level can all affect the outcome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2013
I just made these for the first time and they turned out FANTASTIC! I halved the recipe, making 8 rolls and they came out amazing! I am new to baking breads and have tried a couple other recipes with little success (they were usually too tough or didn't rise properly). I kneaded the dough for quite a while, until it was rather blistery in appearance and then I brushed them with some melted butter before baking. They came out absolutely light and fluffy. Even halving the recipe the rolls came out quite large, about the size of hamburger buns! They're going to be great with clam chowder for dinner tonight! :) Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 519) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Rosemary Pull-Apart Dinner Rolls

See how to make rosemary pull-apart rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States