Unbelievable Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
Very unusual method, but it works. Dough did not seem to rise much when on counter, but did rise while baking. Very different roll. Had the taste of a baking powder biscuit (don't know how with no baking powder) but the texture of a yeast roll. Very good. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Western Springs, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sister Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
The best EVER!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jane

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
Had a lot of fun making this with a friend of mine they were really easy and tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
These were everything I wanted in a roll. They tasted great and were pretty to look at.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
I've made these twice. I followed the recipe per the previous review. - proof your yeast for 5 minutes in warm (like bath water) water with a tablespoon of the sugar required for the recipe. I then heated up my milk in the microwave for about 40 seconds and added the eggs, remaining sugar and milk to my yeast. I accidentally (this last time) added in the melted butter before you had to let the yeast mixture sit in the flour for 20-30 mins. I also make sure my flour is room temp or warm. I keep my flour in the freezer, so I take out the 5 cups and heat it up in the microwave until its warm to the touch (I heat it 30 seconds, take it out and stir and heat again for another 30 seconds, repeat as necessary) and then add my yeast mixture once you create a funnel in the flour. I then follow the recipe as stated. When I let it rise I preheat my oven to 100 degrees and let it sit in the oven. I think next time I'll add a touch more salt. I like to have my rolls a little buttery/salty. I suppose you could also add salt into the melted butter that you can spread on top of the rolls when they are finished. This is a fantastic recipe! Last year I tried at least 5 different times to make yeast rolls. This was the first recipe that I actually succeeded at :]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
Simply AWESOME, I made them for the first time, without really any "dinner roll" baking experience and every body was impressed. I didn't change anything, but the servings and the recipe was, as I said "AWESOME!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
So I made these rolls today for dinner. Took about 2.5 to3 hour's from start to finish. I do a lot of baking. Im a stay at home mom so baking rolls 2-3 times a week sometimes more is nothing for me I I feel I know my way around. I made two changes. One by mistake and one I meant to. I forgot the instructions call for the butter to be added after you let the milk and yeast sit in the flour for 20-30 min.'s I added mine in the milk along with 2 table spoon's of shortening. Other then that I followed the directions as written. Brushing shortingig on top before puttin in oven. I have found my carbohydrate nervana! Everyone loves then even the dog who sat begging at my feet for a roll. Thanks so much. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, California, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
Killed my yeast. The "warm" step is a little vague. I'll try again another day I guess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
I love these rolls! Thank you! My family said they were the best rolls they ever had! They seem fairly easy to make, compared to other rolls and breads I have made. Wonderful, everyone should try these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
These rolls just didn't work out, I hate to say. When they failed the first time I thought I must have done something wrong so I made them again. After going step-by-step and following the recipe EXACTLY, they still came out awful. It's like the dough never rose; it remained heavy and dense. I don't know what happened. I'm sure they would have tasted good if they didn't turn out like hockey pucks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gehbienes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 525) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Rosemary Pull-Apart Dinner Rolls

See how to make rosemary pull-apart rolls from scratch.

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States