Unbelievable Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
The rolls came out very beautiful looking and the texture was perfect, but they were incredibly bland. Going to try them again with double salt and hope that doesn't mess with the consistency too much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda-Steve
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
I've made these for church and everyone loves them. They are so easy and good!! I made 4 doz. today...so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda-Steve
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
Fantastic rolls just taken them out of the oven and they smell gorgeous, followed some of the tips, put a little less sugar, made sure liquids were not too hot, put salt in with the flour, added the fat last, used margarine didn't have any butter, I cut them smaller so I have 30 rolls an OK size for kids. This is my number 1 top recipe for rolls from now on, so easy anyone could make them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise Mastromina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buxton, Derbyshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
Oh my gosh! Best rolls ever!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dineh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sweetwater, Texas, USA
Living In: Terre Haute, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
I have made these rolls twice, following the recipe exactly and they have been amazing both times. I have not had any problems with stickiness of the dough - which may be because I'm a more experienced bread baker - and find it easy to knead into a silky soft dough. Easiest rolls I've ever made; very light and full of yeasty, delicious flavor. I do like to brush the tops with an egg wash before baking to get a shiny golden crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
This is a wonderful recipe! I used half white and half wheat flour, added some gluten, and made Navajo tacos. They fried up very nice and was perfect for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss_Bodyworker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
I made these for the first time but used 3 cups whole wheat flour & 2 cups white flour. They turned out great! I will try all white flour next time since, come on, that's the best :) Great, easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
I'm an avid baker, and I wanted to try something new. I chose this one due to the many reviews. The rolls did not rise as much as I would have liked, and when I baked them, they came out too dense and heavy. Perhaps it's because I had to add so much extra flour. I did not add more than a cup, but apparently, it was still too much. The dough was way too sticky and difficult to work with. I'm deleting this recipe from " recipe box".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMMB

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
I was looking for a recipe to make the rolls we had in school in the 80's well this is it love them and so does my whole family took me back to high school
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2012
Here's the thing, these rolls taste like some of the popular steak house rolls which is a good thing; while I like a sweeter roll now and then, I don't want sweet ones all the time. These are somewhat difficult of a dough to work with; due to stickiness and adding flour. I added about 1 1/2 cups more flour and still sticky. May be somewhat daunting for "baking newbies." I'm an avid baker so just giving a little advice. Please read other reviews for help with these before tackling them as you will need some tips. I baked a larger cake panful with sides touching and also buns on a sheet pan. The cake pan ones rose beautifully, but the ones on the pan were not as high as I would have liked. Next time, I will try letting them rise longer. Hopefully, that will take care of the problem. My yeast was fine. The method is odd and interesting for making them and the flavor is quite good. But they may be too sweet for some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seeker

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 536) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Rosemary Pull-Apart Dinner Rolls

See how to make rosemary pull-apart rolls from scratch.

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States