Unbelievable Fish Batter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
Awesome!! I scaled back the baking powder to 2 T. I also sprinkled some dill in the batter. The consistency of the batter is similar to pancake batter. It coats the fish perfectly. It turned out light and crisp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2015
People, this is a basic (foundation) recipe for crispy batter when deep fried. It's very versatile, can be made into Beer Batter, Curry Batter, fried cakes (add sugar or honey), all you need is an imagination and some seasoning. USE 2 TABLESPOONS OF BAKING POWDER RATHER THE 1/4 CUP AS THE RECIPE CALLS FOR.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vivienne

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2015
Very, very good. I just made this for the first time tonight, and I wish I could give it a 4 1/2 stars. I did find the batter too runny and had to add a bit more flour. It also stuck to the pan a lot, but that is probably me not having quite enough oil in the pan for the size of fillets I used, rather than the recipe. Overall, the flavor was very good. It was very light and delicate, and made wonderful little crispy bits that reminded me of Captain D's (in a good way). I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
Awesome batter! I mixed all the dry in a zip-lock bag before adding the milk and water. I also added only 1/8 of baking powder, but supplemented in the missing 1/8 cup with corn meal. I also added a tsp of All Seasoned salt and a tsp of Old Bay seasoning. Turned out wonderfully! Note: Don't dilly dally with the mixed batter; it starts to rise! (or mine did at least) I also had trouble with it sticking to the bottom of my fryer basket and not the fish on some. :( The batter mix seems a little thick at first, but once on the fish and in the deep fryer it turned out perfectly. Thin and crispy with just enough flavor to compliment the catfish. I'm not a fan of a lot of breading. Couple it with jalapeno hush puppies and a veggie and you've got yourself a great meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Dyer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
Very easy to follow, the fish came out perfect, lovely and crispy, lovely and tasty....who needs complicated recipes when this does the trick, thanks very much, A1
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2015
I actually use this batter for EVERYTHING! My family raves about my fried chicken. ??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PaulaHugs

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Forestville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
Cooked up perfectly. Excellent batter for fish, made haddock fish & chips that looked & taste like it came from the best English or Irish pub. Don't hesitate to try this as-is, edit at your own risk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Farmingdale, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Anthony DiFiore
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
Very good. Light batter, used it to make fish tacos, my picky eater, my 8 year old son even loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anthony DiFiore

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
LOVE,,,,,LOVE......LOVED THE RESULTS!!!!..used self rising flour which had baking powder and salt and added an additional (2) tsp baking powder for additional lift in the batter.....season the flour with spices of your choice....if using self rising flour OMIT THE SALT or add 1/2 tsp salt or less if you like it slightly salty...the batter fries and puffs up to a crispy texture that remains so over 1 hour plus after frying....deep fried in olive oil, make sure you have enough oil in pan, turn frequently until both sides golden brown ....YUMMY!....CRISPY!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
I had not tried to make fried fish in the past since I don't have a deep fat frier. But I tried this recipe a while ago and decided it's a keeper! It turned out better than fish from a restaurant! I've made it 2-3 times now and am making it again tonight. I used Einkorn flour since regular flour bothers my stomach. I also used beef tallow for frying (left over from making bone broth) and it's absolutely delicious, I just fry it up in a skillet. A little homemade coleslaw on the side makes for a great meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 217) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beer Batter Fish Made Great

See how to make crisp and spicy beer-battered fried fish.

Jeannie's Kickin' Fried Fish

A quick and easy recipe for Cajun fried tilapia.

How to Grill Fish

See how to choose fresh fish--and get tips on grilling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States