Unbelievable Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
First let me say, that I always find it less than amusing when someone changes an ingredient (or several) in a recipe and then remarks the dish was not as good as expected. That said, I did change some of the ingredients in this recipe ONLY because I had chicken breasts on their last legs (so to speak) defrosted in the fridge and I had to cook them last night. So I went ahead and made the marinade but substituted lime and lemon juice with margarita mix. What can I say? It's the only citrus I had available! But my, oh my, what a fantastic result! My husband raved about this chicken all night long and again today. I was only able to marinate it for a few hours, and I used the broiler instead of the grill, but the results were still spectacular. Wonderful flavor and very tender! I think the key is to cook them only the amount of time required and not a minute longer. I also reserved some of the marinade before soaking the breasts, so when they came out of the broiler I placed them immediately into the sauce. Oh my word. Heavenly. I mean, this is likely going to be the only marinade I use for chicken breasts for some time to come. Can't wait to try it with the actual lime and lemon juice! Now, I'm wondering how this would work with shrimp...or pork...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1919 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by WATTYZ
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2003
OMG! Received this recipe from an internet friend and absolutely loved it! Only change I did was I used 2 tbsp whole grain mustard, and 1 tbsp dijon mustard, then used hand blender to smooth out marinade some. Cubed chicken and poured half marinade in bag with chicken and the other half in another bag to put in the freezer for future use and marinaded for 8 hours. Skewered chicken/green pepper/onion/pineapple and grilled on each side (4 sides) 2 minutes each, basting with a little left over marinade left out of the bags. It was wonderful! I'll be making this all summer! TY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
522 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WATTYZ

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
It was really good. I like this kind of marinade. When I throw stuff together on my own, I find that I use many of these same ingredients- mmm. I didn't have time to marinate and grill but I put the marinade (made a 1/2 recipe) in a glass baking dish with the chicken (sliced up 2 boneless breasts to make cutlets) and baked at 350 until done. I do that often in place of grilling chicken- the meat soaks up so much of the tasty marinade that way, and it's so fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
456 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kristen m

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
Wonderful marinade. Key to this recipe is to use fresh squeezed lemon and lime juice. Concentrated juices tend to overpower the other flavors. Recipe calls for 6-8 minutes of cooking time per side ~ please note if this doesn't seem long enough for you, the citrus in the marinate makes the chicken cook faster. Do not overcook as your chicken will turn rubbery. Wonderful chicken to add to salads! New favorite in our home! Thanks Letsgggo for the submission.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
329 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2003
I have made this several times due to the continuing requests from my son. Although this is awsome on the charcoal grill, I use this to marinate boneless/skinless chicken brests and then put them on the George Foreman.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
176 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MADFORGOLD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tonawanda, New York, USA
Living In: Grand Island, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
Loved these! Followed the recipe exactly and the results were very tasty. Juicy, with just a touch of mellow sweetness and a bite of flavor. I think this chicken would make a great chicken sandwich with swiss and honey mustard. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
124 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Madison, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2008
This is an awesome marinade! The brown sugar makes a big difference. I used the same amount of marinade for 3 chicken breasts that I pounded down thin used 3 tablespoons of olive oil vs. 6 and used dijon mustard instead of course ground. I left the chicken in the marinade overnight. The chicken soaked almost all of it up. It smelled delicious coming off the grill and tasted even better. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
122 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2008
I've used this marinade twice so far - once with grilled chicken kabobs, and once on grilled chicken breasts. It is indeed a very good marinade, but it doesn't magically transform chicken breasts. I highly recommend this recipe if you are looking for a good basic marinade. I do not recommend this recipe if you are looking to astound your guests with your culinary genius (ha).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2006
Absolutely delicious. I was a bit put off by the smell of the vinegar while preparing the marinade, but it added a nice tang to the end flavor. Used Jack Daniels Honey Dijon Mustard, added Lawry's Seasoned Salt, Crushed Red Pepper Flakes and upped the garlic to 4 cloves. I also used Canola Oil, and I think you could eliminate the Lemon Juice. Definitely marinate for the full 8 hours. Will make this again and again. Thanks, Ruthie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TAYLOR~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Rochelle, New York, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
This chicken was very juicy and tender. We used large boneless skinless chicken breast and marinaded them for about 18 hours. We grilled them on the grill outside but I didn't have to oil the grill. Just let them cook throughly on one side before flipping. I didn't know exactly what coarse ground mustard was and at my grocery store they only had brown, regular and dijon. So I got brown spicy mustard. I also didn't have any olive oil so I just used veg. oil. They turned out wonderfully. This will definently go into my regular rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,304) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Unbelievable Chicken

This 5-star grilled chicken recipe will make a believer out of you.

Grilled Lemon & Yogurt Chicken

Watch Chef John make a healthy, low-fat chicken recipe.

Jenny’s Grilled Chicken Breasts

Watch how to make this recipe for top-rated grilled chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States