Unbaked Meringue Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
Wonderful recipe. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marion Myers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
I loved it! At first I thought I did something wrong because I beat and beat it and nothing was happening but I read the other reviews and just kept beating.....finally....turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
This is very easy, and if you need a no-fail meringue to serve to guests in terms of appearance, this does the trick. (do it same day though....it did weep overnight in the fridge). The texture is just not as light and airy as I prefer though...it is more like marshmallow fluff than meringue (fyi, I baked a blob as an experiment, and it literally turned into a marshmallow). So, for certain pies, a great option (I'm visualizing a chocolate cream S'mores pie, for instance), but unfortunately, for me, the search for my perfect, weep-less meringue continues (for lemon and coconut cream pies). One other note, I was suprised at the volume you can get with just two egg whites with this recipe. It really is plenty for a 9" pie. Also, I didn't have cream of tartar, substituted 1/4 tsp white vinegar, it worked fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
Great recipe and good tasting meringue. I went ahead and used 4 egg whites since I didn't want to waste them but I left the other ingredients at original measurements. It came out very nice. There is exactly enough to top one 9" pie (I made the Coconut Cream Pie). I am just waiting for my husband to use his little torch and brown the peaks now! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
This is lovely for pies that cannot be heated. I dusted nutmeg on top, to give it a browner look for my butterscotch pies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loretta's Recipe Journal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carleton Place, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
After a lot of beating, it looked very nice and tasted yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
Besides topping on pie, what else could you use this for?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
Finally! I did it .... after 25 years of marriage, I was able to make a beautiful meringue. So, easy and delicious. Just keep beating, it'll get there. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Terrell, Texas, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
I will admit this is delicious, but not a substitute for regular meringue. It is very sweet and more like marshmallow fluff than meringue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
Just made this to top a chocolate cream pie. My first all home made pie. Made a crust from here, which came out amazingly light and flakey, made chocolate filling from here, came out wonderfully smooth and yummy. And this meringue to top it off. It came out fluffy but firm and just sweet enough to compliment the chocolate. Thank you! PS - if it isn't peaking, keep whipping, it'll get there!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dsb9938

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edison, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Yummy Honey Mustard Dipping Sauce

See how to make a creamy, sweet and slightly spicy dipping sauce.

Rhubarb Berry Jam

See how to make blueberry and rhubarb jam.

Homemade Jams & Jellies the Easy Way

See how to make fresh jams and jellies from scratch—in just 30 minutes!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States