Unbaked Chocolate Oatmeal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
I've been making a version of these since I was a child (with the help of mom of course!) Lately though, I've found them too dry; despite reducing the boiling time. I tried this recipe and I must say, I am impressed! The addition of the peanut butter is just what these cookies needed! It's a subtle flavour and not too overpowering. I followed the recipe exactly (boiling for 1.5 min and using coconut as 1 optional ingredient) and these turned out beautifully. THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NOLLEEZ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Newmarket, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
Great cookies! Based on others' advice, I also used less sugar (1/2 c white + 1/2 c brown). I would probably add 1/4 cup of each next time! They are still very sweet. I followed the reviewers advice and added 1T of vanilla, and I ended up using 6 cups of oats. I don't think they would have held any kind of a shape with less oats. I used 1 cup of mini semi-sweet chips and that was great. They sort of melted into the cookies a bit, but it added to the flavor! I also used very finely chopped walnuts which were indetectable to my kids. :) Great "one-pot" no-bake cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisahughes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
These had a bit too much peanut butter taste for me. Super easy though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
Exactly like I had as a kid. I read the reviews, and opted to add 2 tsp of vanilla, and I added the cocoa and peanut butter just before taking the mixture off of the stove to make sure it was well incorporated. They were not too gooey; they were perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
THANK YOU! I lost my recipe for this in a move, we have made it since I was little (you'd think I'd have it memorized but..)my kids love it, and too soon they will make it for their kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
In our family this has become know as my daughter's cookies. She is 10 and has been making these by herself for several years. They are quick and easy! She made them for our church Thanksgiving and one of the older men had several and said they tasted just like the cookies his mom used to make. When his mother passed away, the recipe had been lost in their family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
AMAZING! After reading previous reviews I went with 1 cup of brown sugar instead of 2. Mine took a long time to harden, which could have been due to the sugar, or the size, but it didn't even matter. They didn't last 10 minutes at the halloween party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scrosenow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Photo by floridascrubtech
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
This Is Wonderful For Sure. A Great Fix For The Sweet Tooth. I Was So Glad When I Found This Recipe. Because When I Was A Young Girl , My Great GrandMother Use To Make Them. Thank You!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by floridascrubtech

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
LOVE THIS! Wisked in cocoa first, then I added in the other ingredients-added in 1/2 cup more of oatmeal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
brings me back to my childhood. there's nothing better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montrose, Colorado, USA
Living In: Queen Creek, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Chocolate Cranberry Oatmeal Cookies

Bake delicious oatmeal cookies with white chocolate chips and cranberries.

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States