Ultra Easy Cream Cheese Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
My family has made a similar dip recipe for years. As a child, I would take turns with my brothers & sister to make the next batch. We used garlic & onion powder instead of the garlic salt. We also added worchestershire sauce (to taste - not too much). We usually used a couple large bricks of cream cheese & added milk until it was the desired consistancy. No measurments - everything to the taste. We mixed all with a fork, but I use my stand mixer nowadays. Way better than store bought dips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
My family has been using a variation on this dip for years -- usually use garlic powder in addition to the garlic salt, and just add the milk & seasonings to your own taste/consistency. Especially fabulous (and addictive) with Fritos (Scoops or regular) and/or veggies. I usually don't make this large an amount -- one brick of cream cheese, two if I think I need a ton. The cream cheese is best if room temperature or a little warmer; I sometimes pop it in the microwave to soften, and I like to use a whisk to blend, though my brother & mother make it in a blender. I also sometimes add parsley to make it look fancier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
I have been making a variation of this recipe for years. Instead of milk I dilute beef bouillion in water and add to, room temperature, cream cheese. Mix in a blender for a creamy consistency. Spice as desired with garlic and/or onion powder, red pepper, cumin etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
Yeah my families been making this dip since the 1700's so we eat it everyday and the recipe runs in our blood. But for real the best way to make this dip is to take 2 blocks of cream cheese, put it in a Cuisinart, mix in a little milk, and put about 4 scallions in because they're less bitter than onion. Mix it until it is the perfect creamy consistency, salt, and stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
Next time, I would definitely use either a whisk or pulse it with an electric beater. Even though I spent almost an hour beating it with a fork (it was at room temperature), this came out very lumpy and even though I used Light cream cheese, it was very oily. It didn't turn out as good as I thought it would!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
I used an electric beater, and added dill and onion powder. I love the simplicity and variability, but there's no way it should have that much milk. I used half and it was just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
I have used a similar recipe for years. i use garlic and onion salt to taste. I get nominated to make the dip for all parties of friends and family. So good you don't need chips, just a spoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
i was looking for a similar dip my SIL makes. i added some paprika and hot sauce. it made the appearance better i think. i tried this w/ corn chips as recommended but the hubs and i thought they overpowered it. we actually liked it better w/ saltines (weird, i know). this is better the next day so i would suggest making it 24 hrs in advance. next time i will use it for a veggie dip
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MI$$DREA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
I loved that this gave the basics so I could add to it. I added a couple packets of leftover shrimp and veggie packets from my ramen noodles ( I don't use em, but hate to toss them), chives, marinated roasted bell peppers and green olives that I chopped up. Mixed it all with my KitchenAid and then added some Cumin and salt and pepper to taste. Everyone seemed to enjoy it. So thank you for the push. Sometimes a push in the right direction is all I need. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissPatty

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
Used the mixer and it's foamy. THEN I read the footnote. The footnote info needed to be first thing in the directions. I didn't even use the amout of milk it calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by somerset

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Penguins

These adorable cream cheese penguins go beyond cute.

Easy Cheese Ball II

See how to make a pecan-studded cheese ball with Cheddar and cream cheese.

Easy Ham and Cheese Appetizer Sandwiches

Ham and melted Swiss combine with a tangy spread on soft party rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States