Ultimate Valentine's Day Chocolate Truffle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2001
It's not quick, or "easy" per se, but definitely worth your efforts. I really enjoyed making them for this Valentine's Day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
Just a suggestion for those of you who want to use a mold. Try an onigiri mold. They are molds used for japanese rice balls but come in different shapes. It has two sides so one side is exposed once opened.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
These taste amazing! I didn't have a mold so I put them in a mini muffin pan. They didn't come out though, so I scooped them out with a spoon and took a small cookie cutted and cut the shape out of them that I wanted. Everyone was right about the dipping in chocolate part, it needs some oil. Also, I did not have any gold leaf so I dipped mine in cocoa. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
this recipie was great! for those of you who had a hard time getting them out of the molds, freeze instead of refridgerate. i had no prooblem getting them out when they were frozen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aylmer, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Orleans, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
These tasted phenomenally, but were a pain once put in the mold. I had to scoop them out with a spoon and re-shape them because they would not come out of the mold. The soft consistency meant none of the normal tricks (freezing for a few seconds, running hot water over the bottom of the pan, banging the pan, etc.) would work. I'd suggest spraying the mold with some cooking spray before you put the chocolate in the mold or not even using the mold at all and maybe shaping inside cookie cutters. Even though they didn't look too beautiful, they sure tasted GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Media, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2008
Too hard to make, I like the idea of oil and will try that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
didn't come out that well, a bit too dry. will buy some next year...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happyhippy1000

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aschaffenburg, Bayern, Germany
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2004
I attempted to make these for my husband for Valentine's Day. While they tasted great and were very rich, I'm giving it a 3-star rating because it was not as easy a recipe as it seemed. As I anticipated, the truffle mixture did not come out of the heart molds. And the chocolate to dip it in needed to be thinner for better coating. I've seen several other truffle recipes that add vegetable oil to make it easier for dipping. I would suggest adding oil to the chocolate for dipping and not putting the truffle mixture into molds. Great recipe, but it needs some modification.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
While I could not manage to make actual truffles out of this recipe, the resulting spooned-out blobs that were delicious. As far as thinning out the dipping chocolate goes - try adding some Kahlua (or similar liqueur) and milk as needed to thin & flavor the chocolate. Add flour back in if you want more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carmel, Indiana, USA
Living In: Oak Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ultimate Chocolate Dessert

See the easy way to make a rich, creamy, no-bake chocolate dessert.

Homemade Valentine’s Chocolates

Make decadent homemade chocolate candies for your Valentine.

Dark Chocolate Mousse

Make your own homemade chocolate mousse—with a secret surprise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States