Ultimate Twice Baked Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
Huge hit at Thanksgiving this year. Tasted just like my Grandma made back in the day. Also I bought Yukon potatoes that were all different sizes. And my guests were able to pick big one or little ones. This is on the permanent Thanksgiving menu for sure. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lish

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New City, New York, USA
Living In: Islip, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Michelle Turner Sager
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
So yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
I've been making these for 30 years, in one form or another. For a good skin, rub the potato with oil (any kind), and cover with salt. Do NOT poke holes. Bake in oven at a higher temp (400) until done. This gives the potato a very nice flavorful, hard skin and creates a fluffier inside. I like to mix bacon and green onions in the mix to meld all flavors. And just smash for a chunkier consistency. To the mix, I add about 2 T of horseradish (medium), a few dashes of hot sauce and a little Worchestershire to kick it up. For the topping, I mix shredded cheese with a little Panko or bread crumbs and some melted butter. After baking for the time suggested, broil them for a minute or so to get a nice crust on top (watch them!) Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
Bake potatoes for 1 hour 20 minutes and they are perfect. One hour isn't long enough and the skin rips. Very good recipe and very easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Hill Shedd

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Stevie Bob
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
Love this recipe. I altered it by adding diced Roma tomatoes and putting them on top of the bacon and scallions, then topped with the cheddar. Everyone raved! Making these again today. The tomatoes give it a much fresher taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jasmin santos
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
these came out great. but I recommend pre heating oven to @ least 400 degrees otherwise it may taken longer than an hour to soften potatoes. I followed the recipe exactly for the mash & it tasted fantastic!! would def make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jasmin santos

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
Delicious and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
You can never go wrong with twice baked potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
Great recipe. I rub my potatoes with olive oil, stab with a fork here and there (so steam is released and potato skins are crisp), sprinkle with sea or kosher salt and bake at 400 degrees for 45 min + depending on size of potatoes. I cut 1/3rd off lengthwise and use the large 2/3rd to stuff and the 1/3rd for appetizers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Piper Langley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nhanna
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
I'm really disappointed. I wanted to make these SO bad and when I took potatoes out if the oven, scooped them out, they didn't mash. They were still too hard and I nuked them a bunch if times to no avail but it never got the mashed potato consistency I wanted. I think it might be because I threw them in my oven without it being all the way to 350 but I did leave then in for an hour. So disappointed, but I will do these again. Next time ill even boil the guts if I have to!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,983) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Twice Baked Potatoes

Watch how to make doubly delicious twice-baked potatoes.

Perfect Baked Potato

Amazing bakers with crisp, golden skin and light, fluffy insides.

Microwave Baked Potato

See how to nuke a potato so it tastes just like a slow, oven-baked potato.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States