Ultimate Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
I followed this recipe exact, only using half shortening-half butter. I let it firm up in the fridge for 24 hours before I used it. I used this in the Cinna-Spin Cookies. Worked out excellently for me. EDITED TO ADD 09/26/08: I made this again this morning and rolled it in cinnamon/sugar and made Snickerdoodles. I think it rivals Mrs. Sigg's Snickerdoodles. I really like the texture of this one. I think this might me my new go-to recipe for Sugar Cookies. This recipe, using half butter and half shortening, really holds up. You don't need to stick it in the fridge for very long to firm it up and this one didn't spread on me like some other recipes have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2002
This recipe can be found in any package of butter flavored crisco, along with excellent peanut butter, oatmeal, and chocolate chip cookie recipes. They are average in the shape holding department. I took a tip from another review in this category, and cut them out on parchment paper, and just transfered the paper to my cookie sheet. Helped lots!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
I've conducted a lifelong search for the greatest sugar cookie. I'm looking for a slightly cakey texture which holds it shape during baking. Sadly, this cookie did not fill the bill. I followed the recipe exactly. The flavor and texture are pretty good but they spread during cooking. I used "Sugar Cookie Icing" from Allrecipes with excellent results. Don't get me wrong, this is a good cookie, just not what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anastasia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Moscow, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2006
I added a little cinnamon. I didn't have any trouble rolling them out, they were only in the refrigerator about 45 min. then I dusted the counter and rolling pin with powdered sugar no problem sticking. I did however put them back in the refrigerator between batches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2006
This is my favorite sugar cookie recipe!! It is very easy to work with and the cookies taste great and stay chewy!! Everyone in my family loves these and I have been using this same recipe for years!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
I found the dough uneasy to work with and spread too much in the pan when cooked. Even with it being chilled in the fridge dough was still too soft. My family didn't enjoy the flavour too much either and really needed icing to cover up the flavour of the cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Streetsville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
I used regular butter instead of the shortening, and I just put the dough in the fridge to chill. I also added 1 tsp pumpkin pie spice to the dough(cinnamon, nutmeg, ect.) I had to review now, though, because I could NOT stop eating the dough!!! (Maybe its cause Im preggo :) I ate at least 5 BIG spoonfuls. I will update once I actually bake them....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richmond, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Albany, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2005
Made these for Christmas and used the "Butter Icing For Cookies" recipe from this site. I followed the recipe exactly. I divided the dough into fourths, refrigerated the dough about 1/2 hour, then rolled out 1/4 of the dough on my lightly floured counter with wax paper on top of dough. Kept the rest of dough in refrigerator. Repeated 3 more times. I Had absolutely no problems. The cookies were a big hit with my adult kids and my grandkids. Will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2005
This recipe is an all time favorite around my house. The kids cant get enough. they are chewy sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mamakittyto3
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
As another reviewer said, this is simply the Crisco recipe. But, with the whole corn syrup is bad for you thing, they've changed their recipe and I didn't ever save a card. So thank you for posting it. I do always add in an extra 1/2 c. of flour and don't roll between wax paper. I add 1 t. of almond with the vanilla. Yumm-O!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamakittyto3

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montrose, Iowa, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States