Ultimate Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
I found this recipe to be very annoying. i absolutly couldn't get the dough to do anything it wouldnt rool out it was sticky and goopy. i fallowed the recipe exactly as it said and it didnt help i even left it in the fridge and extra 1h30m but still the same so i desided to roll it in to tiny balls and then rolled them in sugar and they turned out okay but still tasteless and the only way to get them to bake through was to leave them in the oven long and then they turned out brown and unappitizing.Good luck with this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newberg, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
I followed this recipe exact, only using half shortening-half butter. I let it firm up in the fridge for 24 hours before I used it. I used this in the Cinna-Spin Cookies. Worked out excellently for me. EDITED TO ADD 09/26/08: I made this again this morning and rolled it in cinnamon/sugar and made Snickerdoodles. I think it rivals Mrs. Sigg's Snickerdoodles. I really like the texture of this one. I think this might me my new go-to recipe for Sugar Cookies. This recipe, using half butter and half shortening, really holds up. You don't need to stick it in the fridge for very long to firm it up and this one didn't spread on me like some other recipes have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
These cookies are delicious!! I used pancake syrup and butter and they came out so soft and moist!! The batter was too sticky to roll out. I dont know why. Maybe because I have VERY limited experience makin cookies. Dropped spoonfuls on a cookie sheet and let my son put some sprinkles on. Austin (my son) definately approves!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SuperMommy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Temperance, Michigan, USA
Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
I've conducted a lifelong search for the greatest sugar cookie. I'm looking for a slightly cakey texture which holds it shape during baking. Sadly, this cookie did not fill the bill. I followed the recipe exactly. The flavor and texture are pretty good but they spread during cooking. I used "Sugar Cookie Icing" from Allrecipes with excellent results. Don't get me wrong, this is a good cookie, just not what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anastasia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Moscow, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
This is your basic christmas cookie recipe and it turned out great. I used 1 1/2 tsp of vanilla and added a tsp of almond extract. Fantastic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
this is the best surgar cokkie recipe i have ever seen i made these one time to show to my cooking class and they loved them so much the teacher is haveing the class make them as part of are fianl exam!!!!!!(what i did is i added a bit of pumkin spice to it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fullyhomemade

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
I used regular butter instead of the shortening, and I just put the dough in the fridge to chill. I also added 1 tsp pumpkin pie spice to the dough(cinnamon, nutmeg, ect.) I had to review now, though, because I could NOT stop eating the dough!!! (Maybe its cause Im preggo :) I ate at least 5 BIG spoonfuls. I will update once I actually bake them....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richmond, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Albany, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2006
I added a little cinnamon. I didn't have any trouble rolling them out, they were only in the refrigerator about 45 min. then I dusted the counter and rolling pin with powdered sugar no problem sticking. I did however put them back in the refrigerator between batches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2006
This is my favorite sugar cookie recipe!! It is very easy to work with and the cookies taste great and stay chewy!! Everyone in my family loves these and I have been using this same recipe for years!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2005
Made these for Christmas and used the "Butter Icing For Cookies" recipe from this site. I followed the recipe exactly. I divided the dough into fourths, refrigerated the dough about 1/2 hour, then rolled out 1/4 of the dough on my lightly floured counter with wax paper on top of dough. Kept the rest of dough in refrigerator. Repeated 3 more times. I Had absolutely no problems. The cookies were a big hit with my adult kids and my grandkids. Will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States