Ultimate Steak Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
OMG! What a great steak sandwich! The garlic/parmesan mayo is awesome! I got away with using Hellman's lite mayo and it was still really good. I can see many uses for it. Instead of round steak I used sirloin and slightly froze it to get the steak thinly sliced. I used a vidalia onion, cut up a green pepper and added that to the mixture. I used a bit more sea salt, Worcestershire and liquid smoke (just another dash). And, even though I had the garlic mayo I did add a bit of garlic to the steak, onion, and green pepper mixture - just a little out of habit. We got some really great rolls for these and the provolone cheese just put it all over the top! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
This was GREAT! I did have to add a little extra salt and worcestershire sauce to the meat while it was cooking, but that's just a personal preference. I also added tomato after it was baked, but again, that was a personal preference. We LOVED the garlic parmesan mayo and I think next time I would even add a little more parm. cheese. I think this would also be great with some sauteed mushrooms too. I will definately be making this one again! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 8, 2011
I did not try this myself but my two boys and husband thought this was quite tasty. My husband thought it was perfect, actually and he loved the Not difficult at all and fed my three boys quite well. The portion sizes were exact, making two smaller filled hoagie rolls and two very full filled hoagie rolls. Next time I try this, I'd like to add in sliced red or green pepper to stretch it a little for myself. Four portions fed three people in this house. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
this has been a huge hit at several parties. Used the thin sliced rare roast beef from the store deli. and mada another version using pulled apart rotiseerie chicken.. Also used the dinner rolls you buy in the tray, cut them as one in half, toasted, and spread everything on. then baked it in the tray covered with tin foil. very easy to make a lot!! Wow It is gone in 60 seconds!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
The garlic parm mayo makes this sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eatnow

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
This recipe was delicious. I purchased thin sliced round steak from my butcher, but still found the meat to be tough. Next time I might pound the round steak first. Overall a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silver Lake, Ohio, USA
Living In: Stow, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
this was good as is,although had a very strong garlic flavor even for me,a garlic lover.i don't really know what the worstershire and liquid smoke was for as i couldn't detect either of the flavors in the meat. i will def. make again but will tweak it a little until i get what i was looking for. i was looking for a sloppy steak sand.,so maybe a little beef broth in w the meat and maybe tomato? thanks for a starting point,though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
This sandwich is awesome! To ensure the round steak is tender, do the following: pound it out (if you don't have a meat mallet, you can stab it to death with a fork then pound it out with the back of a large heavy metal spoon), slice it as thinly as possible...paper thin!, or consider marinating it in the worchestershire for a while. The mayo sauce is awesome too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by junglepilotwife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chandler, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
We all loved this! After I cooked the steak with the onions, I transfered to a crockpot and added steak seasoning and allowed it to cook on low for a few more hours. It did fall apart a bit, but we liked it that way.... it tasted wonderful! My husband raved and said to keep this recipe on top :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mankato, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
This was a big hit with my husband and his fishing buddy! They loved the mayo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make the Ultimate Steak Sandwich

Watch Chef John create the juiciest, meatiest steak sandwich ever.

Shooter's Steak Sandwich

Layers of seared steak and sautéed mushrooms star in this pressed sandwich.

Sensational Steak Sandwich

The slow cooker is the key to these tender sirloin steak sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States