Ultimate Shrimp Scampi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
I like a "wetter" dish but did not want all that butter. A good trick is to reserve some of the pasta water, after cooking, and add that in to final dish. This works great for a lot of pasta recipes. If the finished product is a little dry the pasta water works wonders wihtout adding more butter, cream, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medusa, New York, USA
Living In: West Warwick, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2008
This was an excellent and easy recipe for someone who has never made scampi before. It was easy to follow and came out delicious. My only remark is that when we added the wine, we turned the heat up for a couple of minutes to high to cook out the alcohol and leave the flavor. We did this before adding the shrimp to avoid the shrimp absorbing the alcohol. We served it on a bed of spinach leaves to add some color and it was very presentable. It was also easy to half for 2 people (1/2 stick of butter, 1 lemon squeezed, dash of worshishire, 1 teaspoon of the wine, 1 tbs of fresh parsley, 1/4 white onion). One note is no matter how strange it may sound, the avocado is essential. It really adds to the dish and works wonderfully. I like tomatoes in my scampi so I added some but it did not work very well after all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tricia Winterle Jaeger
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2008
One word - AWESOME! The 1 Tablespoon of salt has to be a typo, I added 1 teaspoon and it was plenty. Didn't have any wine so I omitted that and used Parmesan cheese (freshly grated) instead of the Asiago. Super fast and easy to make. LOVE IT! LOVE IT! LOVE IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia Winterle Jaeger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sasebo, Nagasaki, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
Really great Scampi!! I have been looking for a traditional shrimp scampi recipie and this is it. My wife said that is the best thing I have cooked for a while and since I retired, I have been doing most of the cooking. I, of course, made a few changes. Two more cloves of garlic and 1/4 cup of white wine. I also cut the butter by 2/3ds and replaced it with olive oil. Really good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2008
I know this is wrong for rating it although I changed the recipe to suit my taste. I did everything in the begining like the recipe stated. Where I changed it was I added cilantro instead of parsley and added tomatoes. IT gave it a totally different flavor, but I prefered it that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Rivas aka Pablo's Hottie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Weslaco, Texas, USA
Living In: Kyle, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
forget the avocado unless you like it. this is the scampi recipe on this site. so easy and quick! company quality!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
Delicious! The avocado really complements the shrimp. I've tossed out my old shrimp scampi recipe in favor of this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
What an interesting twist on the shrimp scampi! Love it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ait0shi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Okinawa, Okinawa, Japan
Living In: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
Loved it! I could not find asiago cheese so I added some parmesan and the avocados. I added about 1/8 cup wine but be sure to cook the sauce as called for so the shrimp will not take on the strong wine/lemon juice flavor. This makes a pretty presentation. It is simple but elegant. Will make again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lockhart, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
I love this shrimp scampi dish and so do my guests. I do make a few changes that I feel make this dish easier and tastier. I never add the avocado, the parsley or the cheese. I use an entire onion cut into strips, not minced and I usually double the sauce. Sometimes I put a little extra Worcestershire in there too. It comes out so good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 191) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Shrimp Scampi Bake

Dijon mustard adds zesty zip to buttery shrimp scampi.

Absolutely the Best Shrimp Scampi

This classic shrimp dish features a garlicky, addictive sauce.

Garlic Shrimp Linguine

Make elegant but easy garlic shrimp in a white wine and butter sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States