Ultimate Shrimp Scampi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
I love this recipe! The avocado made the dish interesting and unique. This dish (as most are) is much better if you use all fresh ingredients. Open your bottle of white wine to add to the recipe and drink the rest with your meal! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hoveyfox

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
My husband and I enjoyed this so much we made it two weekends in a row! We didn't have avocado the first week, so tried it with the next. The asiago and avocado make such an amazing difference. We've never had asiago and my husband is not a fan of avocado, but we won't make it without, now. I even took leftovers to work the next day and added the two on top and it was just as good. This is our only scampi recipe from now on! FYI, it is wonderful with whole wheat angel hair pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Columbia, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
This was a good recipe! I will likely make it again to play with flavor combinations. I did have a few small changes, mostly because of what I had (or didn't have) on hand. I used pre-cooked shrimp that I took the tails off of. Did not add the salt, because I used salted butter. No white wine, but I did add a little bit of chicken stock. Dried parsley as I didn't have any fresh. And no onion, because of personal preference. When it came time to serve, I grated both Asiago and Pecorino Romano cheeses on top with my microplane. I was a little unsure about this recipe, mostly because of the avocado, but decided I'd give it a try. It turned out pretty darn good! It was a nice change from my standard go-to dinner dishes. My Father (who was over for dinner) also was suspicious when I put the plate in front of him but ended up really enjoying it! One note: 16oz of Angel Hair seemed to be waaaay too much compared to the amount of liquid I ended up with. Probably will only do 1/2 or 3/4 of a package next time. I would definitely recommend trying this if you have never made your own shrimp scampi before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by day_rog
Reviewed: May 12, 2009
I thought this was ok-good. Not excellent. I added about twice the amount of seasoning because we like spices..I also added cherry tomatoes which were good. Didn't use the avocado or asiago-sub'ed Parmesan cheese instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by day_rog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Archbald, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Palatine, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2009
Absolutely the BEST shrimp scampi I've ever had. I added two cups of fresh baby spinach to the sauce at the end just long enough to wilt. EXCELLENT RECIPE - not one bite left and can't wait to make it again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
I am only rating this on the shrimp in the sauce, I didn't put it over pasta or use the avacado. We just ate the shrimp on the side w/ fish. It was great! I love that there isn't a ton of wine like some other scampi recipes where the wine flavor takes over the whole dish. This is good, easy and fast! ETA: Made again about a year later and used 1/2 butter, 1/2 olive oil and added the avacado. Very tasty addition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNY-REDS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glenmoore, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
Followed the recipe the first time and thought it was just OK, the next time we added extra garlic and onion and it gave it the added flavor we were missing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
Worth while to seek out Asiago cheese. Very tasty. Very.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GARFIELD CASEY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
Was yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
This is a great recipe for shrimp especially in the winter when you can't grill them outside. It was very tasty and even made good leftovers. Make sure to add the avocado. A little lemon squeezed over the finished product is good. I did substitute olive oil for half of the butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 195) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Shrimp Scampi Bake

Dijon mustard adds zesty zip to buttery shrimp scampi.

Absolutely the Best Shrimp Scampi

This classic shrimp dish features a garlicky, addictive sauce.

Restaurant-Style Chicken Scampi

See how to make a quick and creamy chicken pasta that's a twist on shrimp scampi.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States