Ultimate Shrimp Scampi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
This is very similar to George Stella's Anaheim Shrimp Scampi recipe available on the Food Network website. That recipe calls for spaghetti squash instead of pasta. I have made it both ways and it is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
Really great Scampi!! I have been looking for a traditional shrimp scampi recipie and this is it. My wife said that is the best thing I have cooked for a while and since I retired, I have been doing most of the cooking. I, of course, made a few changes. Two more cloves of garlic and 1/4 cup of white wine. I also cut the butter by 2/3ds and replaced it with olive oil. Really good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
Okay, I needed something to make the last meal before I go grocery shopping for the week, so I cooked this up. I had to leave out the parsley, Worcestershire sauce, and wine because my sister is such a picky eater and I didn't have any wine on hand, but it was STILL absolutely amazing! I didn't add avocado or cheese to my plate and it was still awesome. Very simple and light, which I loved since I don't usually care for pasta sauce. Thank you for posting!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
This recipe deserves nothing less than 5 stars. Anyone that suggests it has too much of anything is not following directions or measuring accurately. Perfect in every sense of the the meaning and also wonderful over linguini. Loved the Avacado addition, adds a perfect touch of color!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
What an interesting twist on the shrimp scampi! Love it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ait0shi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Okinawa, Okinawa, Japan
Living In: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
Excellent meal! I made some alterations. I added bay scallops to the recipe. Also I melted some if the cheese in the sauce while it was sitting. I used red onion, which was a good compliment to the dish. The only thing I would add would be fresh tomatoes at the same time as the avacado when plating it. A great light summer meal that anyone could enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
I made alterations to this recipe but it's a great base for a wonderful dinner--adding avacado is a creative way to add color and flavor. I used a ton of white wine and all organic ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Starry Night

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
Made for Valentine's Day and it was amazingly delicious! I thought the avocado would be weird, but it worked surprisingly well. YUM! Very elegant dish of fine restaurant quality. I made it exactly as directed and wouldn't change a thing. My SO would like for me to make this with reduced butter next time, but I worry it will impact the flavor. We'll see. This dish is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
Thanks slip for a great recipe Left out the onions as she doesn't like them but the shrimp tasted great. Did not use the asiago and avacado Sprinkled with a small amount of bacon toasted almonds and freshly grated parmisiano R. Served separatley with angel hair pasta and fresh marinara as she likes her flavors separate and loves marinara. Made a great dinner
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baron

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
I would recommend marinating the shrimp prior to cooking. (white wine, garlic, salt, olive oil, S&P). I also add a very slight coating of sugar to carmelize the shrimp- which I actually cooked seperately in saute pan with butter. Cooked until seared on one side and flipped for only a minute or two on the other- then set on a platter to finish cooking. Otherwise shrimp are colorless and tasteless. Added roasted red pappers and sun dried tomatoes but due to personal taste, but otherwise good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 199) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Shrimp Scampi Bake

Dijon mustard adds zesty zip to buttery shrimp scampi.

Absolutely the Best Shrimp Scampi

This classic shrimp dish features a garlicky, addictive sauce.

Restaurant-Style Chicken Scampi

See how to make a quick and creamy chicken pasta that's a twist on shrimp scampi.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States