Ultimate Shrimp Scampi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
the shrimp scampi was very delicious! however, i thought that 1 tbs salt was way too much. I just ate it a few minutes ago, and my throat is now parched and my lips salty!I recomment perhaps 1 tsp of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
Great! We didn't have the avocado to put on top. I added a little more garlic to the leftovers and we had made roasted broccoli as a side dish and put that in to what little was left and hubby had that for lunch the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lincoln Park, Michigan, USA
Living In: Wyandotte, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
Surprisingly, this turned out delicious despite not having garlic or asiago. So we can't wait to try this with both. We used garlic powder since we somehow didn't have garlic cloves in the frig. The sauce was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
I Love this recipe! I have made it several times. I don't add the onion just because I don't like onions and I didn't have white wine, but I do add a little olive oil with the butter. My kids go crazy for this. Great recipe, definitely one to try!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
Just ok! Needs MORE garlic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by massageldy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
The original recipe called for 1TB of salt and I found that to be way too salty. However, with the adjustment to 1tps it is much better. I recommend doubling the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
This was great but it was super garlicy. Super easy, first time I ever made shrimp. Really enjoyed the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hamtramck, Michigan, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
My family loved this recipe!!! Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beckbradford

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
YUM! This is the best shrimp scampi I've made in a long time. I was pleasantly surprised at the addition of fresh avocado to this dish. I had to add fresh tomato...can't have shrimp scampi without it! It (the avocado and tomato combo) definitely compliments the shrimp in a unique way. I only made a few other changes (without changing the flavor of the dish too much). I'm not a cheese person, so I left it out (husband didn't know it belonged in the recipe so he didn't miss it). I used dried parsley instead of fresh because that's what I had on hand. I subsituted half the butter for half a cup of olive oil so it wouldn't be as 'heavy' on the stomach and also added chicken broth in small increments as the onion and garlic simmered. I definitely cooked the 'sauce' for a while before adding the shrimp toward the end of cooking time. I agree with others in that you don't to taste the lemon juice and wine in this dish. You want all the flavors to come together. I didn't have angel hair pasta, so I just served the shrimp over a very small portion of regular spaghetti and added steamed asparagus to the side. I know people get mad when a cook rates the recipe after making changes, but this recipe (no matter how you do it) is five stars all the way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trish

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
I'm not a shrimp person, however, I made this for my husband. He loved it. I did cut the salt down to a tsp, a tbs just seemed like a lot. I used a couple extra cloves of garlic as well. My husband said he does not have to order this when we go out anymore because this was awesome! Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 191) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Shrimp Scampi Bake

Dijon mustard adds zesty zip to buttery shrimp scampi.

Absolutely the Best Shrimp Scampi

This classic shrimp dish features a garlicky, addictive sauce.

Garlic Shrimp Linguine

Make elegant but easy garlic shrimp in a white wine and butter sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States