Ultimate Roast Beef Blues Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
I tweaked this recipe so that it was served hot and wow! Absolutely amazing! I buttered hoagie rolls and toasted them in the oven at 350 degrees. I used deli roast beef and pan seared it for a few seconds on each side to get it hot, then spread miracle whip and horseradish on the hoagies, added the roast beef, then the blue cheese. My husband thought they were incredible and we will definitely serve it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
Wow. This knocked my socks off with the very first bite! Indescribeably delicious... so good I can't even spell it. I improvised and used what I had on hand, sandwich bread toasted, chunky blue cheese dressing, and dried basil. I even forgot to toast the walnuts. Imagine this toasted... Mmmmmm. Even with the stuff I used it was 5 star, I can't wait to try it with the real bread and cheese (and remember to toast the walnuts next time). You've got to try this, it is soooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
Delicious! The only changes I had to make was to use regular sandwich bread because I didn't have any sub rolls on hand, and I had to use dried basil because I didn't have any fresh on hand. I'm eager to try this sandwich with the fresh basil, as I know it will give such a wonderful, fresh burst of flavor. I used regular mayo instead of light, which was what I had on hand. The first time I made it, I used blue cheese crumbles AND blue cheese dressing... but that makes for very pungent blue cheese flavor, so I wouldn't recommend that. Use blue cheese dressing only if you don't have the blue cheese crumbles. Otherwise, use blue cheese crumbles and mayo. Delicious, wonderful combination of flavors. I also pan seared my roast beef (don't really care for it cold out of the fridge). You won't be disappointed with this one! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DivineHealth7

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2008
Definitely a five star winner here! Bravo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Howard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Glen Allen, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
A delicious sandwich. The basil and blue cheese are somehow perfect and the toasted nuts are a nice surprise. Everyone who tried them, loved them. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2008
This is a really good, easy recipe!! I followed the recipe exactly and I wouldn't change a thing. My husband and I both loved it and whenever he sees blue cheese in our fridge, he's hoping it's for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
Fantastic. I toasted the roll after putting a little butter on it and warmed the roast beef. I also added horseradish and along with my fresh basil, it was delicious. My husband said it tasted like it came from a health food store. The basil must have given him that idea because it sure is not heart healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
I sauteed the roast beef in a little au jus powder and toasted a crusty bagette in the oven. The rest of the recipe I followed. The flavors of the blue cheese, nuts, beef, and basil go very nicely together. My man hates walnuts and still loved this, so don't shy away from the nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
This was great! I did change it a little. I heated up the roast beef and then I put the cheese on wrapped it in foil and put it under the broiler. My boyfriend doesn't like blue cheese so for his I used cheddar and it was really good. I really like the mayo basil combo!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca Barkley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vestal, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
Wow, the flavors in this sandwich worked so well together. I used sandwich buns rather than sub buns and toasted them for a minute. Then I spread them with a horseradish mayo that I had. I heated the beef very quickly in a hot skillet and that helped the blue cheese get soft and melty. Yummmm. Great sandwich and easy to put together quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Hudson, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make the Ultimate Steak Sandwich

Watch Chef John create the juiciest, meatiest steak sandwich ever.

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Beef Brisket Sandwich

Incredibly tender beef brisket is piled high on a hoagie roll.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States