Ultimate Roast Beef Blues Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
I wanted to make this sandwich according to the recipe the first time, and I found I did not care for the walnuts. It was just to weird for me. I think this sandwich would be much better toasted, leaving off the nuts and adding some type of relish or sauce. I will give them a try again with my own changes and see if I can make this what we consider a 5 star recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 3, 2012
Fantastic sandwich! When I make them again I will butter and toast the buns first, then add the blue cheese and walnuts to one side of the bun, the roast beef to the other and pop back in the oven to warm thru and melt the cheese. Then pull them out and add the fresh basil and mayo, yum, yum, yum :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
Yum! I followed the recipes exactly, except that I heated the sandwiches in the oven. What a treat! I will make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
This was a great start. Taking the advice of others, I added some horseradish and toasted the sandwich. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
Absolutely amazing. Definitely not the same old sandwich. Even the family members that don't like bleu cheese and the one that doesn't like nuts, love this. I warm the roast beef right before assembling. I have substituted chunky bleu cheese dressing for the crumbled bleu cheese when I've made many, due to cost. It worked out fine. Toasting the nuts is a must and the basil is great. Thank you for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Diamond Bar, California, USA
Living In: Spencerville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
I have made this many, many times and each time it's a little bit different. What I usually do is sear the roast beef until it's warm, then chiffonade the basil and throw it into my Magic Bullet with some lemon zest and the mayo. The lemon basil mayo is delicious on the sandwich! I also have learned that sliced blue cheese works really well on this as opposed to crumbled, which usually makes a mess and comes out all over the place. This is one of my very favorite sandwiches - and my husband's as well. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medical Lake, Washington, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
OUSTANDING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
Amazing and I do not like blue cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Coffeen, Illinois, USA
Living In: Athens, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
Very good recipe. I put the sandwich under the broiler for a few minutes, open faced. Also broiled the top of the bread before putting together. The basil really adds a good flavor to it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Quakertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Dublin, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
Yum! So easy! Serving warm is a must! I used bakery onion rolls and horseradich mayo and it was terrific!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kearney, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make the Ultimate Steak Sandwich

Watch Chef John create the juiciest, meatiest steak sandwich ever.

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Beef Brisket Sandwich

Incredibly tender beef brisket is piled high on a hoagie roll.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States