Ultimate Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
I whipped this baby up in about 1/2 an hour this afternoon, by creatively combining steps while maintaining the basic ingredients, if not exact proportions. And it turned out FAB-U-LOUS! I hard boiled 8 c of water, 3 TBSP chicken bouillon, 1 1/2 tsp (ish) of pepper, 4 minced cloves of garlic, 1 chopped onion, 1 1/2 to 2 tsp of celery seed, 8 peeled, chopped medium sized spuds and a cube of real butter, til the potatoes were mush. I separated out 1 c of liquid, then used a potato masher to mash up everything else in the pot. I added 3 c of cream to the 1 c of liquid, then slowly added the potato soup mixture to the cream mixture, 1 c at a time, stirring a bit between. I let it set while hubby made french bread garlic cheese toast. It was amazing to see all 4 of my picky kids snork down on it. Won't make it too often because of the high fat content, but it's a lovely treat for a cold, rainy day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Glass Cat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Wow this was great, followed this recipe, however just love bacon, so while potatoes, celery and onion were boiling in (my homemade chicken broth) I cut up 1/2 pound bacon and cooked until crisp then drained out bacon renderings (instead of butter) and mixed with the flour and pepper to make the rue and then added more chicken broth and half and half. It turned out exceptional and served with homemade wholegrain croutons. Thanks, this recipe is awesome, will definately intend to make over and over again. Yes it was our St. Patty's Day treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
I whipped this up last night for a quick warm meal. So yummy. Made it exactly as written. The half and half does make it rich... But oh my... So tasty. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomsburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
Awesome recipe- very yummy! I tweeked a little- I only used 2 cans of chicken broth, used 3/4 of a small onion and also sauteed the onion and celery first. I had to add a little water when cooking potatoes because 2 cups broth wasn't enough to cover potatoes to cook. Also only used 2 chicken bouillon cubes, added salt and 1 tablespoon butter towards end of cooking. Only had enough half and half for 3 1/2 cups but it was enough. When plating I added some parsley and a little shredded white cheddar. Very good recipe. Next time will try it with bacon- This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
The hubs and I loved this soup! I only left out the celery because we didn't have any. Super good soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kristintensity

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
This recipe is delicious. I did not change anything about it. Thanks for postings wonderful and simple recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jemila

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
Awesome 2-10-2013
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JWoolworth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paxton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
I found this recipe when looking for a way to use up a lot of half and half. There was very nice flavor to this soup, but it was a little thin for our preference. I made it as written and I would make it again, but next time I would thicken it a little more and up the pepper to 1 teaspoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
Really enjoyed this soup - was rich but not over the top. I didn't have bouillon so used this instead (http://www.knorr.com/product/detail/245812/chicken-stock)...have been using that alot in soups/sauces as it doesn't have the bouillon chemical taste. Oh, also, I was going to throw in some bacon but didn't have any so I put some leftover summer sausage...everyone loved it. Will keep this in mind next time I buy potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SusanB

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Family liked it, esp., that I added corn to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 267) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States