Ultimate Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
I made this for a family get together. I added carrots only because I had some that needed to be eaten. I also added 1/4 cup of Velveeta cheese and 1 can of cream of mushroom with garlic. This soup is the best I've ever had !and the compliments just keep coming! I've made it twice since then. My girls keep asking for it in the dinner rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
Made this tonight with Lactaid milk and it was AWESOME!! Added bacon as a garnish and lots of pepper. Cut the recipe in half and have plenty of leftovers. Husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
Really good with a few additives. I used more potatoes. I put in more potatoes and a carrot. a teaspoon of thyme makes a big difference. I put a dollop of sour cream on top of each bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly as written the first time and we really enjoyed it. The next time I added diced ham into the soup, when I served it I put chopped green onions and shredded cheese on top of the soup and buttered Italian bread on the side. It was really delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
simply delicious just the way you wrote it out. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
Just what I was hoping for! Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
Absolutely the BEST potato soup I've ever made! I only switched out the half and half with 2% milk instead and it was amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
I wasnt impressed. I made the recipe as is but found it a bit bland, tasted like flour to me. I was able to doctor it up with some garlic powder, black pepper and about two cups of shredded cheddar jack cheese. I think Ill keep looking for my Go-To Potato soup recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie Beth Keck

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
Made it just like the recipe said - came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
I tried this recipe & as Thumper mentioned found it very salty. I began adapting & came up with a potato soup, while quite different, but I thought worth a mention. I used a cup more potatoes than the recipe called for(we like ours more chunky so they were cut into about 1/2"chunks. I put a pound of baby carrots to simmer in a pot filled with chicken stock (stock is a personal preference). Added a corn cob (The cob gives the most amazing flavor to any soup or stew).(cut the kernels off the cob & save the cobs in the freezer). I decided to use bacon & a spicy link sausage (cut into think bite size rounds) and put those together to sauté in a skillet. When finished I drained the bacon and sausage & set aside. In the same skillet I added a little butter & sautéed onion, celery, garlic & cracked pepper then added those to the pot with the carrots. At that point I added 2 small drained cans of chopped green chilis I had on hand. My soup was growing but smelled amazing. I dug in my refrigerator and found part of a head of cabbage. Washed and chopped into fair size chunks, it was destined for my soup. At this point I added the potatoes but kept aside a cup to cook alone (mash & add to thicken). About 10 minutes before the potatoes were cooked I added the bacon, Sausage, Milk & cabbage. When that was done I added the mashed potatoes & shredded cheddar cheese. Then salt and pepper to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 283) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States