Ultimate Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
Great recipe, tastes very creamy and nice but just a suggestion - saute your onions and celery lightly in a little butter before putting them in with the potatoes. It will give the soup an even better flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti Bricker Schoor

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
Good, but a little too creamy for me and I actually cut down the amount of half and half. I will use this recipe as a base to make my own version next time as the flavor was nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
I followed the recipe as written with the exception of using 1% milk instead of half-and-half. I also mashed up a few of the potatoes to thicken a bit. It was stupendous! Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
this is my favorite soup recipe, hands down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AnnaNanny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stevens Point, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: The Woodlands, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
I have tweaked this recipe to make it vegetarian for the hubby, but it is amazing as it is too. I love using the baby dutch yellow potatoes best. I tried using 1% milk to make it healthier and I could hardly tell a difference
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn Coleman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
Perfect recipie as it is but I have a potato fettish as do my daughters. My husband has to have some meat. As such I added in a few chopped strips of cooked bacon for him and added in more potato. After all the designated cook time was over I added in a couple handfulls of shreadded cheese and cooked for about 5 additional minutes before serving. As such it turned out with a bit more flavor and was like eating the worlds best stuffed potato only in a soup style.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Galesburg, Illinois, USA
Living In: Moberly, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2010
This soup was amazing! I halved it 'cause we have small children who aren't big eaters - but now I wish we had had leftovers!!! Instead of using butter, I used coconut oil which worked just as well for thickening and the flavour was excellent! I made it into a "cream of potato" by using my hand blender, mostly for the kids sake as they are not aware of the fact that they are eating ONIONS when I do that!! haha....I had half and half this time in my fridge, so I used it, next time will use milk as we found it a teeny tiny bit rich. We all really enjoyed it as a creamy soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
This soup is totally easy to make and my whole family is obsessed with it. I substitute a few shallots for onions because I prefer the flavor and I've even tried making it with fat-free half and half. Still delicious. Add a few handfuls of shredded cheese to it just before it's finished cooking and it gets a little gooey-er. Delicious. Our go-to Sunday football watching soup (c:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
This was the first thing my cousin and I ever cooked. It was the start of our cooking career. So much flavor and our family continuously requests this dish. Definitely a keeper and will win over the stomach of all of your guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ghetto Kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 283) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

World's Best Potato Soup

A delicious, chunky and creamy potato soup with bacon.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States