Ultimate Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
Great recipe, tastes very creamy and nice but just a suggestion - saute your onions and celery lightly in a little butter before putting them in with the potatoes. It will give the soup an even better flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti Bricker Schoor

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
Good, but a little too creamy for me and I actually cut down the amount of half and half. I will use this recipe as a base to make my own version next time as the flavor was nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
I followed the recipe as written with the exception of using 1% milk instead of half-and-half. I also mashed up a few of the potatoes to thicken a bit. It was stupendous! Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
this is my favorite soup recipe, hands down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AnnaNanny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stevens Point, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: The Woodlands, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
I have tweaked this recipe to make it vegetarian for the hubby, but it is amazing as it is too. I love using the baby dutch yellow potatoes best. I tried using 1% milk to make it healthier and I could hardly tell a difference
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn Coleman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
Perfect recipie as it is but I have a potato fettish as do my daughters. My husband has to have some meat. As such I added in a few chopped strips of cooked bacon for him and added in more potato. After all the designated cook time was over I added in a couple handfulls of shreadded cheese and cooked for about 5 additional minutes before serving. As such it turned out with a bit more flavor and was like eating the worlds best stuffed potato only in a soup style.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Galesburg, Illinois, USA
Living In: Moberly, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2010
This soup was amazing! I halved it 'cause we have small children who aren't big eaters - but now I wish we had had leftovers!!! Instead of using butter, I used coconut oil which worked just as well for thickening and the flavour was excellent! I made it into a "cream of potato" by using my hand blender, mostly for the kids sake as they are not aware of the fact that they are eating ONIONS when I do that!! haha....I had half and half this time in my fridge, so I used it, next time will use milk as we found it a teeny tiny bit rich. We all really enjoyed it as a creamy soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
This soup is totally easy to make and my whole family is obsessed with it. I substitute a few shallots for onions because I prefer the flavor and I've even tried making it with fat-free half and half. Still delicious. Add a few handfuls of shredded cheese to it just before it's finished cooking and it gets a little gooey-er. Delicious. Our go-to Sunday football watching soup (c:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
This was the first thing my cousin and I ever cooked. It was the start of our cooking career. So much flavor and our family continuously requests this dish. Definitely a keeper and will win over the stomach of all of your guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ghetto Kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 283) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States