Ultimate Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
I have been sick, so have just been eating soups. Thought of Potato Soup, and came by to see what I could find. This Potato Soup is the best I have ever made. Even the potato soup my Mother made was no compairison to this. And so I gave it a 5 star rating
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara Corfield
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
Simply delicious!! After serving, I crumbled bacon in bowl. We all loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
-Great flavor!! Not as robust a flavor as some potato soups, but this has a beautiful flavor in its own right. This soup will go on the list of my very best soup recipes. -You will need to add a great deal more broth to the pot on step 1. (It's pretty hard to boil seven plus cups of vegetables in just two cups of broth!) However, you can just use some of the rest of the broth the recipe already calls for, so no big deal. -Using homemade chicken stock instead of canned broth and bouillon definitely gives the soup a richer flavor. Also, make sure you've added enough salt if using homemade stock. The soup will be somewhat bland if under-salted. You may wish to add a bit of salt even if using commercial broth and bouillon; enough salt makes all the difference in the flavor for this soup. -Finally, if you are worried about the soup being too thin, cook and stir the white sauce longer in step two. It will continue to thicken more the longer you cook and stir it. -If you want to make sure the celery and onion are as soft as the potatoes, boil them first for about 5 minutes before adding the potatoes. -To quote Lewis Carroll, "Beau--ootiful Soo--oop!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by toomanycooks

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
I love this recipe. I used a 36 oz container of chicken stock and whole milk instead of half and half. It was really creamy, an new family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
Would be 5 stars, but a little too bland for our tastes as written. After simmering for a few hours hubs said, "You better taste this-it needs something." I added some cajun seasoning, garlic powder, onion powder, thyme and a little dill. Tasted again, and added salt and a little tabasco. Towards the end I put probably 2 cup shredded cheddar cheese in as I had used regular milk instead of the half-half. We topped ours with some bacon bits and more cheese. Pretty good, but I have other potato soups I prefer. Thanks anyway Thumper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
I am giving this 4 stars because I reserve 5 for really outstanding. This soup was very good and easy to add ingredients or amend if you were locked in due to bad weather as I was yesterday, no meat thawed and could not get to the grocery. I used flour to thicken as the recipe called for but I did not have chicken broth so I as improvising and added to much liquid. Also only had 2% milk so to thicken the soup, I added instant potatoes, and that really enhanced the flavor. I do not usually have instant potatoes on hand but I had seen another recipe for potato soup that called for them so had bought, just in case. I probably had more than one cup of onions but we enjoyed the flavor as we like onions. Again, use this recipe to add the seasonings you like or eliminate the ones you do not. Basic recipe is very good and EASY. My husband added cheese and bacon bits to the top of his but I did not because I just wanted the potato soup comfort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
I loved this soup! Excellent recipe. I did add some cream cheese that needed a home and some Alouette creamy onion and shallot cheese just cause I had it. However tasting the recipe before adding these cheese's it was still so very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: San Gabriel, California, USA
Living In: Hemet, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
First time visit to this site. Followed the recipe and put it to the test...my husband - who loves to cook and bake. He loved it! We will be visiting this website more often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Yum, Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JURADO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, California, USA
Living In: Bellflower, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
This is a good potato soup. I left out the celery and used a large yellow onion, chopped. Instead of using cans of chicken broth and bouillon I just used water and boullion granules. I didn't need the flour, I kind of forgot. This was great. I added some creole type seasoning on top. I used two cups milk/2 cups half and half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 71-80 (of 275) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States