Ultimate Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
Although it took a little work to thicken, due to my inexperience with soup making, it tasted fantastic! My boyfriend had two bowls for dinner and one for breakfast, he loved it too! I took the advice of others and sautéed up some garlic, onion,celery, carrot and mushroom and then added that with the potatoes. Also seasoned it with Old Bay and it was such a nice taste. Could easily add some clams and mussels to leftovers(if there are any!) to make this a nice seafood chowder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Swisse

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
It was great!!. The kids and I loved it. Great for a chilly afternoon dinner. I used some dill weed, thyme, bacon and more potatoes in it to season to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
This was an excellent soup. I didnt have celery on hand so I chopped 4 carrots and added a cup of frozen peas. I added one cow brand cheese to the sauce. I didnt puree as stated in the recipe and it came out nice a creamy. Next time I will try and make it with less fat. This would make a great clam chowder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pauline Sharp Eberlein

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pitt Meadows, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2013
I made this and it was very easy and everyone in my family loved it. My sister and husband said it was the best potato soup they ever had. I followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
It says a lot when my father in law asked me for this recipe! We served everything bagels along with this soup as it's a nice addition. I do use a potato masher at the end just a few times to break up the big chunks and make it creamier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walnut Grove, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Volga, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
delish, but took me a long time to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
I whipped this baby up in about 1/2 an hour this afternoon, by creatively combining steps while maintaining the basic ingredients, if not exact proportions. And it turned out FAB-U-LOUS! I hard boiled 8 c of water, 3 TBSP chicken bouillon, 1 1/2 tsp (ish) of pepper, 4 minced cloves of garlic, 1 chopped onion, 1 1/2 to 2 tsp of celery seed, 8 peeled, chopped medium sized spuds and a cube of real butter, til the potatoes were mush. I separated out 1 c of liquid, then used a potato masher to mash up everything else in the pot. I added 3 c of cream to the 1 c of liquid, then slowly added the potato soup mixture to the cream mixture, 1 c at a time, stirring a bit between. I let it set while hubby made french bread garlic cheese toast. It was amazing to see all 4 of my picky kids snork down on it. Won't make it too often because of the high fat content, but it's a lovely treat for a cold, rainy day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Glass Cat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Wow this was great, followed this recipe, however just love bacon, so while potatoes, celery and onion were boiling in (my homemade chicken broth) I cut up 1/2 pound bacon and cooked until crisp then drained out bacon renderings (instead of butter) and mixed with the flour and pepper to make the rue and then added more chicken broth and half and half. It turned out exceptional and served with homemade wholegrain croutons. Thanks, this recipe is awesome, will definately intend to make over and over again. Yes it was our St. Patty's Day treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
I whipped this up last night for a quick warm meal. So yummy. Made it exactly as written. The half and half does make it rich... But oh my... So tasty. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomsburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
Awesome recipe- very yummy! I tweeked a little- I only used 2 cans of chicken broth, used 3/4 of a small onion and also sauteed the onion and celery first. I had to add a little water when cooking potatoes because 2 cups broth wasn't enough to cover potatoes to cook. Also only used 2 chicken bouillon cubes, added salt and 1 tablespoon butter towards end of cooking. Only had enough half and half for 3 1/2 cups but it was enough. When plating I added some parsley and a little shredded white cheddar. Very good recipe. Next time will try it with bacon- This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 283) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

World's Best Potato Soup

A delicious, chunky and creamy potato soup with bacon.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States