Ultimate Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
I wasnt impressed. I made the recipe as is but found it a bit bland, tasted like flour to me. I was able to doctor it up with some garlic powder, black pepper and about two cups of shredded cheddar jack cheese. I think Ill keep looking for my Go-To Potato soup recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
Made it just like the recipe said - came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
I tried this recipe & as Thumper mentioned found it very salty. I began adapting & came up with a potato soup, while quite different, but I thought worth a mention. I used a cup more potatoes than the recipe called for(we like ours more chunky so they were cut into about 1/2"chunks. I put a pound of baby carrots to simmer in a pot filled with chicken stock (stock is a personal preference). Added a corn cob (The cob gives the most amazing flavor to any soup or stew).(cut the kernels off the cob & save the cobs in the freezer). I decided to use bacon & a spicy link sausage (cut into think bite size rounds) and put those together to sauté in a skillet. When finished I drained the bacon and sausage & set aside. In the same skillet I added a little butter & sautéed onion, celery, garlic & cracked pepper then added those to the pot with the carrots. At that point I added 2 small drained cans of chopped green chilis I had on hand. My soup was growing but smelled amazing. I dug in my refrigerator and found part of a head of cabbage. Washed and chopped into fair size chunks, it was destined for my soup. At this point I added the potatoes but kept aside a cup to cook alone (mash & add to thicken). About 10 minutes before the potatoes were cooked I added the bacon, Sausage, Milk & cabbage. When that was done I added the mashed potatoes & shredded cheddar cheese. Then salt and pepper to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
Although it took a little work to thicken, due to my inexperience with soup making, it tasted fantastic! My boyfriend had two bowls for dinner and one for breakfast, he loved it too! I took the advice of others and sautéed up some garlic, onion,celery, carrot and mushroom and then added that with the potatoes. Also seasoned it with Old Bay and it was such a nice taste. Could easily add some clams and mussels to leftovers(if there are any!) to make this a nice seafood chowder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
It was great!!. The kids and I loved it. Great for a chilly afternoon dinner. I used some dill weed, thyme, bacon and more potatoes in it to season to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
This was an excellent soup. I didnt have celery on hand so I chopped 4 carrots and added a cup of frozen peas. I added one cow brand cheese to the sauce. I didnt puree as stated in the recipe and it came out nice a creamy. Next time I will try and make it with less fat. This would make a great clam chowder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pitt Meadows, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2013
I made this and it was very easy and everyone in my family loved it. My sister and husband said it was the best potato soup they ever had. I followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
It says a lot when my father in law asked me for this recipe! We served everything bagels along with this soup as it's a nice addition. I do use a potato masher at the end just a few times to break up the big chunks and make it creamier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walnut Grove, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Volga, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
delish, but took me a long time to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
I whipped this baby up in about 1/2 an hour this afternoon, by creatively combining steps while maintaining the basic ingredients, if not exact proportions. And it turned out FAB-U-LOUS! I hard boiled 8 c of water, 3 TBSP chicken bouillon, 1 1/2 tsp (ish) of pepper, 4 minced cloves of garlic, 1 chopped onion, 1 1/2 to 2 tsp of celery seed, 8 peeled, chopped medium sized spuds and a cube of real butter, til the potatoes were mush. I separated out 1 c of liquid, then used a potato masher to mash up everything else in the pot. I added 3 c of cream to the 1 c of liquid, then slowly added the potato soup mixture to the cream mixture, 1 c at a time, stirring a bit between. I let it set while hubby made french bread garlic cheese toast. It was amazing to see all 4 of my picky kids snork down on it. Won't make it too often because of the high fat content, but it's a lovely treat for a cold, rainy day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Glass Cat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 266) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States