Ultimate Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
A most excellent potato soup! I've used the same basic recipe with several different vegetables to make different cream soups and found it to be most versatile, as well. I've also tossed in a bit of ham or ham and cheese and had great results. My partner loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ellonwheels

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowdon, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
I made this exactly as written and wish I had read reviews first. Definitely would not use half and half and would put celery in food processor. It was still a harder texture than everything else. It was ok, but added a little cheese to add some flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy Unger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
this doesn't seem right... boil 6 cups of potatoes + the celery + 1 cup of onion in two cups of broth?? here goes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
Really good. Only thing I did differently was to carmelize the onions. Topped with cheddar cheese. Bacon would have been nice but I didn't have any.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
Love this recipe. Good flavor, and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
Best potato soup I have ever had! The only thing I did different was added 1 can of cream of celery to the half and half mixture for a little added thickness. My husband loves this and he even adds a little crumbled bacon and cheese to his. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kala

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
Tried this out for the first time feeding a crowd. I left out the onions and bullion and added nature's seasoning. I doubled it and had only 1 bowl of leftovers. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mmktanner
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
Delicious. I streamlined this recipe by cooking the potatoes, celery and onions in all the broth. Slowly added in the half and half when it was finished cooking and then whisked in the melted butter/flour mixture. to add the smokiness of bacon (which I did NOT add cause this soup is fat enuf) I added 1/2 tsp of smoky paprika. Worked like a charm!!! I cut down the half and half by about 1/2 a cup. All those other steps unnecessary!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
The half and half with plenty of chicken broth flavor (plus enough black pepper) made this soup great. Mmmmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 275) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States