Ultimate Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
Perfect soup for these cold winter nights! I added 3 cloves chopped garlic, some salt and a little more pepper - BIG FAMILY HIT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TayaG6

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
Used 4 cups of chicken stock instead of the bouillon cubes. Also heavy cream instead of half and half and cooked 6 strips of cut up bacon cooked til crispy. Wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
Excellent soup! Very easy to make. I didn't add the extra bouillon cubes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nedra Kastor

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
I love this recipie! I did 2 things differently. First off, everything is better with bacon, so I cooked some bacon in the pot first, set aside the finished bacon to add later, and left the grease in the pot for more flavour. WOW. Second, I poured about half of it into a blender to make it just a little bit more creamy! Great recipie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
I liked this recipe but had to modify it for what I had on hand. I also halved the recipe. I added a few carrots based on one of the other reviews and kept the celery. I cut the liquid down some for a thicker soup. I also added a little turkey bacon and used low sodium chicken base instead of the bouillon cubes. We thought the it was really good on it's own, but we added "Alabama Fire Crackers" (from this website) to the soup and it was amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
Good. Definitely a little salty, but that is fine with me! I added some bacon and it was delicious. Next time I will add more potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
For those who want this recipe to end up thicker, I recommend making a roux out of the butter and flour before adding the (cold) chicken broth to the pot. This will result in a thicker soup. When I made this, I cooked the potatoes (about 8 medium) in a pot with their skins until they were soft. While those were cooking, I cut up the onion, celery, and about a half a bag of baby carrots, which I then sautéed in the 6 TBSP of butter. Once the onions were starting to look clear, I added the flour and created a roux, which thickened up my soup when I added the water and chicken bouillon cubes (this recipe does not need actual chicken broth to be successful). As the broth mixture got warmer and started to thicken, I added a cup and a half of chopped ham into the soup, along with the drained potatoes and the half and half. After cooking it for a while, I also added a cup of Velveeta cheese, cubed to give the soup more flavor. This turned out wonderfully, just like the soup I grew up eating at my mom's house. I will definitely make this again-it was so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ponytail Goddess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Freeport, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
A most excellent potato soup! I've used the same basic recipe with several different vegetables to make different cream soups and found it to be most versatile, as well. I've also tossed in a bit of ham or ham and cheese and had great results. My partner loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ellonwheels

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowdon, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
I made this exactly as written and wish I had read reviews first. Definitely would not use half and half and would put celery in food processor. It was still a harder texture than everything else. It was ok, but added a little cheese to add some flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy Unger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
this doesn't seem right... boil 6 cups of potatoes + the celery + 1 cup of onion in two cups of broth?? here goes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 282) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States