Ultimate Mayonnaise Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
This recipe makes a delicious, moist chocolate cake, very easy to make because it only requires the use of one bowl and a wooden spoon (no mixer). It is even better with the following small tweaks: first, instead of water, use buttermilk for additional moistness and flavor; stick with Hellman's mayonnaise, not a strong-flavored one like Cain's; use Penzey's high fat cocoa powder and Ghirardelli semi sweet mini-chips for the richest chocolate flavor; use a bundt pan greased and floured with cocoa powder instead of a 9 X 13 pan, and bake at 350 for 50 minutes. Drizzle chocolate ganache over the top, or serve with a dollop of whipped cream. The cake is actually even more moist and flavorful when it is two days old, so make it ahead of time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
Delicious!! Very moist and rich. Family loved it without the icing on it. to me I thought it tasted like a cake like brownie. The box cake mix may never get used when I make chocolate cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by wleitel
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
We absolutely love this recipe for cupcakes. They are the moist cupcakes every. We do add an extra tablespoon of Unsweetened cocoa but otherwise we follow the recipe exactly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
This cake was moist, but did not rise very well. I will try it again just to make sure it was not the baker's error.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2008
It was tastless and came out hard and cruchy on the sides. And it plopped out in peices! ( And I greased it very well) I dont recommend this cake! But It was an interesting bakeing adventure! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Detective Nancy Drew

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2007
really really good! I made this out of desperation because I needed a cake and had no eggs. everyone loved it. I might try adding some baking powder to lighten it up. It was very gooey and yummy though. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Sampson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Towson, Maryland, USA
Living In: Liskeard, Cornwall, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2005
It was good, but didn't like it warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2004
This is the absolute best chocolate cake I have ever tasted! It is so moist and decadent. The only thing I do different is that I add more semi-sweet chocolate and melt it a little before adding it to the batter! Tastes good even without frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JJCRIMBLES

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Opelika, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2003
was sour and tasteless
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2000
this was good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Better than Sex Cake II

See how to make a 5-star cake that's better than almost anything.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States