Ultimate Maple Snickerdoodles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2004
Wow! What a fabulous recipe. I feared the maple flavor would be too strong and these would taste like pancakes- but that wasn't the case at all. I used the real maple syrup (not pancake syrup) and the end result was a rich, cinnamony sweet cookie. Fantastic. This recipe is a keeper! I've made these cookies several times now and I had to make a few changes to the recipe. I really like my cookies to be soft and cinnamony, so I used 3 tablespoons ground cinnamon in the dough, and instead of 1 cup of white sugar I changed it to 3/4 cup white and 1/4 cup brown sugar for the dough. I also used crisco butter flavored shortening sticks in place of magragine, as shortening doesn't spread as much. I also never use all of the flour mixture- I blend in enough to make sure the dough is soft, not sticky, and I end up throwing about 1/4 cup of it away. This has happened everytime I make them- if I use all of the flour, the cookies turn into dry 'rocks'. Make sure everything is blended REALLY REALLY REAllY well and do NOT OVERBAKE- I take them out as soon as they look like they're hard enough on top but still "wet" in the middle. If you slice a cookie open right after I take it out of the oven, it doesn't look done in the middle, but if you wait until the cookie cools to take it off of the cookie sheet, it sets up and the result is a cookie that stays soft for DAYS. Thanks again for such a wonderful recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
133 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rosie Liao
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2007
MmMM!!! That was ooone good cookie. This is my snickerdoodle recipe now. I didn't have maple sugar so rolled the cookies in 2 Tbsp. of sugar mixed with 2 tsp of cinnamon. The best snickerdoodles I have ever tasted. Chewy and soft. Even my fiancee who hates cinnamon thought it was delicious. Didn't give me three dozen, only two. But then again I make my cookies kind of big. Enjoy the recipe fellow bakers!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosie Liao

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Marino, California, USA
Living In: Siena, Toscana, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2005
Love these! The maple flavor is nice, but not overpowering. Following the advice of others, I added a few extra glugs of syrup. I didn't look for maple sugar, just used a regular sugar and cinnamon mixture. I think next time I will make the effort and look for the maple sugar. As soon as they cooled I froze them, so I'm not sure how chewy they stay yet. They're really great warm, though! **REVISED NOTE- This year, I made the effort, and found the maple sugar. It was EXPENSIVE, but the difference it made in the taste of the cookie was so pronounced it was worth it. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
This recipe is one of those happy surprises - even though you think it's going to be good or you wouldn't have made it in the first place, it actually exceeds your expectations. These are pretty little cookies, chewy and soft both. Buttery good, not too sweet, and nicely spiced with just the perfect amount of cinnamon. But it is the maple syrup (I used Grade B for boldest flavor) and the maple sugar that truly make this an exceptional cookie. The dough, too, is beautiful and cooperative - it's easy to work with and does just want you want it to. Other than substituting butter for the margarine I followed the recipe as written and found it produced a perfect cookie. Hubs, who typically prefers very rich desserts, loved these. He also never rates any recipe five stars - but he did with these. I love it when we both agree!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2004
Awesome cookies! I made these because my chocolate chip cookies are famous at work. A co-worker asked if I could make Snickerdoodles as well as I could chocolate chip. I have never made them, so I searched and found this recipe. They melt in your mouth with a satisfyingly crunchy outside. I did not have maple sugar so I used a mix of white sugar, brown sugar and a small amount on cinnamon to roll them in. I also stirred about 1 tsp of pure maple syrup into the sugar mixture. Not sure if it helped, but it worked! Also, I do NOT use margarine for anything, so I just used the same amount of melted butter. I always use melted butter in recipes - it's the secret to soft cookies! Awesome! I will definetly make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
Yummy! I was afraid of an overwhelming maple taste or too sweet but these are delightful! I couldn't find the maple sugar so I put a few drops maple extract in a sealed container with 1/4 cup white sugar. I shook it for about 15 minutes. Then I poured in 1/2 cup white sugar. There were a few lumps and it was wet sugar until I added the white sugar. I only shook that unitl just mixed. I'm sure it's not as good as maple sugar but it'll do in a pinch. I think these'll be a staple of my Christmas cookie baking!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Wenatchee, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2002
This was a wonderful treat! Soft, chewy, so tasty! I was looking for a simple, soft cookie and this is it! I didn't have the maple sugar, so I rolled the cookies in a basic cinnamon/sugar mix and they turned out perfect! I took some to work the next day and everyone loved them! Thank you Linda!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy Peterson Bohland

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kalispell, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2002
I found this recipe just in time for a bridal shower that I was hosted as I was looking for an easy cookie to package as favors. This recipe was my choice as there is no milk used in the batter. One of my guests was milk and corn allergic so I used a soy based, corn absent "butter". VERY EASY to make and no fuss since I was also making a lot of other more complicated dishes. The first test batch I made I thought that I did something wrong as the cookies were so moist on the insides that I had a hard time removing them from the cookie sheet. Each batch afterwards I chilled the dough for an hour or so before baking as I felt without it, it would be a bit to sticky for me to get a dollop off my fingers and onto the tray! This, I feel helped out greatly and I realized that the joy of this cookie is the slightly chewy middle! This recipe was a HUGE success! Despite the fact that only one person at the shower had ever heard of a Snickerdoodle, more than half the guests have requested this recipe even with the soy products that I used! Just Yummy, pure yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2004
This recipe gets an A+ from my family. I bake a lot as well, and am quite critical when trying new recipes. I used real unsalted butter in place of margarine, added 1/2 tsp. real vanilla extract, and 1/2 tsp. maple extract. The cookies baked beautifully and tasted delicious! Thank you for sharing this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
I never give a rating or review for a recipe that I changes a lot while making. However, I was out of all of the dairy needed for this recipe and ended up using veggie oil in place of margrine and arrowroot powder in place of eggs. The cookies turned out to be absolutly incredible! I will make these again many times! My picky husband couldnt keep away from the crisp, doughy goodness on the plate and they were gone in less then an hour!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsea

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Campbell River, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 266) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mrs. Sigg's Snickerdoodles

If you love cookies with crispy edges and soft centers, these are for you.

Snickerdoodles I

These classic, top-rated snickerdoodles are rolled in cinnamon sugar.

Ultimate Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make classic chocolate-chip cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States