Ultimate Maple Snickerdoodles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
Definitely not as mapley as I thought it might be w/ the name being what it is. But that's a good thing for me. This recipe was simple and turned out great. I didn't use the maple sugar though. For the last step I just mixed about 1/4 cup of brown sugar, 1/2-3/4 cup of white sugar and some ground cinnamon (made 2 batches). Definitely not as mapley as I'm sure it would have been with the maple sugar, but still a good cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
Really sweet, didn't cook long enough, mushy in center, cook at least 10 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lenexa, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
Ive made this twice now the first time with butter and using real maple sugar. Those were great! The second time with margarine and an addition of maple extract. I have to admit I like them better with real butter.. In the end either way I love them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn Kurth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Westwood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
I really wanted to like these...they sounded amazing. However I could not taste the maple AT ALL!! I used 6tbsp real maple syrup and the maple sugar combo, reduced the cinnamon hoping the maple would shine through...and couldn't taste maple. Really bummed. Otherwise the texture was good, I used the authors modified version of the recipe that she later posted. One other thing...real snickerdoodles have cream of tartar and it is missing from this recipe. These ended up being kind of bland for me. I might try again using maple extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAWNIE44

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
To MAIREAD2: I used the eHow food (www.ehow.com/how_6530742_make-maple-sugar.html) directions for how to make the maple sugar, reducing the volume from the 2 gallons listed down to 1 cup in a 1qt pot. After cooking to 255 degrees and then stirring it 5 min to sort of a fudge consistency, like it said to, I pressed it flat onto a silicone mat to cool. After I chopped it up with a spatula, I had a little less than a 1-qt jar. This amount seemed reasonable for the home cook, and doesn't cost too much. Hope this helps! UPDATE: made these exactly as written and found the maple flavor too subtle (only had grade A, though), underdone at 10 minutes, and waay too sweet. Will try again, subbing some maple sugar for the white in the dough, reducing the white sugar in the dough too, cutting the cinnamon down a little, and maybe rolling only in maple sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
Scrumptious cookies! I didn't have maple sugar so rolled them in brown and white sugar mixed together and they turned out delicious! Really quick and easy to make; a definite new favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
Maybe it was just me making the cookies too big, but I had to cook them several minutes longer since they were raw inside at 10 min. And much more fluffy than the picture. I did what was suggested...rolling them in sugar, brown sugar and Cinnamon..very tasty! I was surprised at the batter being very powdery...I had to spray Pam on my hands to keep it from sticking to my fingers...just a tip ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
I made these according to the original recipe, except using 1/2 brown & 1/2 white sugar and 6 tbsp of good maple syrup. They are tasty and my husband likes them very much. I think I'd like them even better if they had a stronger maple flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jkmarcoux

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
I am the owner of this recipe and have modified it even more for perfection every time: 3/4 cup butter 1/4 cup shortening 1-1/2 cups white sugar 6 Tbsp GRADE B maple syrup (it's worth it!) 2 Large Eggs 3 tsp Baking Powder 1/2 tsp Baking Soda 2 tsp Cinnamon 3 cups Flour (less if too dry, more if too sticky) 1/2 cup Maple Sugar (or cinnamon sugar or a combination of both, which is what I use) This recipe doubles beautifully! Don't overbake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BakingInCleveland

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Parma Heights, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
These are absolutely fabulous. The texture and subtle flavor is unbelievable and we were completely impressed. Well done Linda!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 266) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Mrs. Sigg's Snickerdoodles

If you love cookies with crispy edges and soft centers, these are for you.

Snickerdoodles I

These classic, top-rated snickerdoodles are rolled in cinnamon sugar.

Ultimate Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make classic chocolate-chip cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States