Ultimate Maple Snickerdoodles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
This recipe would be 5 star if it weren't for the incorrect ratio of wet to dry ingredients. Like another reviewer said, DO NOT add all of the flour mixture at once. Mix some in and add more if needed, otherwise you'll end up with dry cookies that barely spread. I didn't see that review until after I had mixed everything together and could tell there was no way my dough was moist enough. I was able to salvage it by adding another tablespoon of maple syrup and about 3 tablespoons melted butter. Once I had fixed the problem, the cookies baked up beautifully and they tasted divine. Perfectly mapley without being overwhelming. Don't skimp on the maple sugar and whatever you do, don't use fake syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
Everytime I make these cookies, they turn out better every time! I luv the combination of the flavors cinnamon and maple in a cookie. the texture of the cookie is soft and chewy, with the extra delight of a maple sugar coating! These cookies taste great with a cup of coffee, a scoop of ice cream, or even your favorite flavor of afternoon tea! I like they are low-fat, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Living In: Malta, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
I wish I could give more than 5 stars. This recipe is everything you want in a recipe. It is accurate, easy to follow, and the end product is even better than you think it is going to be when read the ingredients for the first time. Just follow as written and this recipe is a great update to a classic Snickerdoodle. Snickerdoodles were the first thing I ever made without adult help when I was a kid and I fell in love with them. This recipe marries the best of what I think a classic Snickeddodle is with a great update. The maple syrup and maple sugar add a great earthy sweetness. It is worth the time and expense to fins good grade B maple syrup and maple sugar...as Alton Brown says..."your patience will be rewarded".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dad2twins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lynn, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2010
I'm not too sure about these yet. I'm going to have to make them again. My first batch turned into little cinnamon rocks. Chewy on the inside but didn't spread at all. I'm wondering if this has something to do with my using HFCS free Log Cabin Pancake syrup... not sure if it counts as real maple syrup. Also didn't have the maple sugar so I substituted brown sugar and added a little cinnamon to the mix. I'm going to cut out 1/4 cup of flour as someone else did and try these again in a full rather than half recipe. Hope they turn out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sydney

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cypress, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
Delicious. Used all whole wheat pastry flour and 1/2 sucanat for the white sugar. There goes my diet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
yum! just as advertised delicious! we could taste the maple syrup even without the maple sugar... but did pour in a touch extra of the syrup for good measure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
Just wonderful! I didn't have any maple sugar so i just used regular sugar for the outside and upped the cinnamon and maple syrup in the batter. I used lard instead of margarine because that's what i had handy and the cookies were a glorious success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
I made a few changes to the recipe. First I didn't have any baking soda so that wasn't added I also only used 1 tsp of cinnamon in the dough and used the other 1/2 tsp for the sugar mixture also did not have the maple sugar so I used a combination of sugar brown sugar and cinnamon to roll the dough in. It came out tasting like oatmeal to me but at the same time tasted really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
Needs more of a distinguishable maple flavor, but I didn't have maple sugar (I used brown instead), so that's probably a big part of the problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
I've been looking for a snickerdoodle recipe that did not contain shortening. I used butter instead of margarine. My husband said they were better than his mom's so I know this is a keeper recipe. I thought the maple was subtle and enhanced the cookie without overpowering the cinnamon. I used my 1 1/2" cookie scoop and got 36 cookies. There was also alot of leftover coating mixture so you might want to cut that in half. I'm just going to save the leftover sugar/maple sugar mixture for the next batch which, by the looks of the cookie jar, I'll be making very soon. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATSINTHEKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trinidad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 265) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mrs. Sigg's Snickerdoodles

If you love cookies with crispy edges and soft centers, these are for you.

Snickerdoodles I

These classic, top-rated snickerdoodles are rolled in cinnamon sugar.

Ultimate Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make classic chocolate-chip cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States