Ultimate Maple Snickerdoodles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
YUM! Like many other reviewers, I did not have maple sugar. So, to compensate, I use all white sugar with a tiny bit of maple syrup mixed in. If you add a small enough amount (about 1 tsp to a full cup of sugar) and mix it thoroughly, you can end up with a crumbly sugar mixture that has the maple taste, but is still powdery enough to roll the cookies into.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Wayne, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
These are great. I didn't even have real maple syrup so I just used the immitation kind and they still came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
Great recipe. I never use margarine - trans fats are terrible, and butter tastes better = easy choice. :) Since they were maple cookies, I used maple syrup instead of the white sugar. It made the batter more rich, and the cookies were wonderful with perfect texture. You can make your own maple sugar by boiling down your pure maple syrup, pouring it out on parchment paper or a candymaking mat and letting it cool. It will make crunchy/breakable sugar pieces. But frankly, if you replace all of the sugar with pure maple syrup, it leaves a nice maple flavor already. I end up usually using cardamon sugar mix for the top (organic evaporated cane juice, cinnamon, cardamon). You want your batter to be too sticky to make a ball with your hand at first - this make for the chewy texture after baked. You use a few spoons to scoop out batter, and drop it into the sugar mix. You pinch a little sugar mix ontop of it, then you can roll it around in the sugar without half the mix ending up on your hand. Just keep dropping in the dollops and coating with sugar. If your dough is easy to roll balls before you coat with sugar, its probably too dry =/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lulu

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
Definitely not as mapley as I thought it might be w/ the name being what it is. But that's a good thing for me. This recipe was simple and turned out great. I didn't use the maple sugar though. For the last step I just mixed about 1/4 cup of brown sugar, 1/2-3/4 cup of white sugar and some ground cinnamon (made 2 batches). Definitely not as mapley as I'm sure it would have been with the maple sugar, but still a good cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
Really sweet, didn't cook long enough, mushy in center, cook at least 10 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lenexa, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
Ive made this twice now the first time with butter and using real maple sugar. Those were great! The second time with margarine and an addition of maple extract. I have to admit I like them better with real butter.. In the end either way I love them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn Kurth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Westwood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
I really wanted to like these...they sounded amazing. However I could not taste the maple AT ALL!! I used 6tbsp real maple syrup and the maple sugar combo, reduced the cinnamon hoping the maple would shine through...and couldn't taste maple. Really bummed. Otherwise the texture was good, I used the authors modified version of the recipe that she later posted. One other thing...real snickerdoodles have cream of tartar and it is missing from this recipe. These ended up being kind of bland for me. I might try again using maple extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAWNIE44

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
To MAIREAD2: I used the eHow food (www.ehow.com/how_6530742_make-maple-sugar.html) directions for how to make the maple sugar, reducing the volume from the 2 gallons listed down to 1 cup in a 1qt pot. After cooking to 255 degrees and then stirring it 5 min to sort of a fudge consistency, like it said to, I pressed it flat onto a silicone mat to cool. After I chopped it up with a spatula, I had a little less than a 1-qt jar. This amount seemed reasonable for the home cook, and doesn't cost too much. Hope this helps! UPDATE: made these exactly as written and found the maple flavor too subtle (only had grade A, though), underdone at 10 minutes, and waay too sweet. Will try again, subbing some maple sugar for the white in the dough, reducing the white sugar in the dough too, cutting the cinnamon down a little, and maybe rolling only in maple sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
Scrumptious cookies! I didn't have maple sugar so rolled them in brown and white sugar mixed together and they turned out delicious! Really quick and easy to make; a definite new favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
Maybe it was just me making the cookies too big, but I had to cook them several minutes longer since they were raw inside at 10 min. And much more fluffy than the picture. I did what was suggested...rolling them in sugar, brown sugar and Cinnamon..very tasty! I was surprised at the batter being very powdery...I had to spray Pam on my hands to keep it from sticking to my fingers...just a tip ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 269) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mrs. Sigg's Snickerdoodles

If you love cookies with crispy edges and soft centers, these are for you.

Snickerdoodles I

These classic, top-rated snickerdoodles are rolled in cinnamon sugar.

Ultimate Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make classic chocolate-chip cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States