Ultimate Maple Snickerdoodles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
I was a little nervous these might be too sweet. Living in Vermont, we know a thing or two about the taste of maple syrup. However, it is very subtle but tasty, similarly to the taste of chocolate chip cookies without the chocolate. If you are looking for a strong maple flavor, be sure to add more syrup than the recipe specifies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
Excellent! Like many others, I didn't have any maple sugar, and couldn't find it. So I used the cinnamon sugar to roll them in. They turned out delicious! I'm going to find some maple sugar for the next batch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RWC4520

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Falling Waters, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by 6MOUTHS
Reviewed: May 22, 2012
Delicious! Instead of the sugar/maple sugar coating, I drizzled them with a maple glaze by melting 1 Tbsp unsalted butter and 2 Tbsps real maple syrup in a small saucepan then whisking in 1/2 c powdered sugar until smooth. I will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 6MOUTHS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
Amazing! These cookies were the perfect combination of sweet and subtle, crunchy outside and chewy inside. I can't stop eating them. I couldn't find maple sugar, but brown sugar is fine as a substitute. Nor did I use actual maple syrup, but the regular (cheaper) syrup works just as well. Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anguye52

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
SO GOOD! I followed the advice of the highest rated review and they came out amazing! Stayed soft for a week, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
excellent. I did not have maple sugar but did have maple flavoring so I made the maple sugar by mixing 1/2 cup raw sugar and 2 t. maple flavoring-used mixer. Other changes I made because I had the ingredients on hand were butter instead of margarine and raw sugar instead of white.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mandxxx
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
Gorgeous! I wasn't really sure what to expect as i have never had a snickerdoodle before but they were delicious. The maple and cinnamon were there but not overpowering. I rolled them in vanilla sugar as I was not really sure what maple sugar is. I will definitely be saving this recipe and making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mandxxx

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
Ohhhh Yummmmm..... these are awesome.. i baked them a few min longer because i prefer a little harder to dip in milk. Dont be fooled if they look to puffy when you take them out-- they settle and harden as they sit! Sooo good. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
I was not crazy about this recipe. It was way too maple-y, I couldn't taste the cinnamon at all, even after coating the cookies in cinnamon-sugar since I didn't have any maple sugar. They also did not spread at all and baked as balls that were set and crisp on the outside and raw in the middle. It was not the yummy chewy kind of softness that you want in the middle of a cookie, it was raw and gooey. Fortunately, this didn't make too many. Probably will not be making again. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
These were really great, and my family gobbled them up. I added 1 tsp. maple extract along w/ the maple syrup. (It made for a more pronounced flavor). For the maple sugar coating I added 1tsp. of maple extract to the 1/2 cup of white sugar. Placed it into my mini food processor to incorporate well. These cookies are warm and homey, and I will add to our family favorites. Thank you for such a lovely recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kenreanne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pasadena, Maryland, USA
Living In: Anthem, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 265) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mrs. Sigg's Snickerdoodles

If you love cookies with crispy edges and soft centers, these are for you.

Snickerdoodles I

These classic, top-rated snickerdoodles are rolled in cinnamon sugar.

Ultimate Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make classic chocolate-chip cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States