Ultimate Maple Snickerdoodles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
I have made this recipe many times and it is much loved by the kids. Great texture of crispy on the outside and soft and chewy in the middle but for me it is too sweet and the sugar kills the flavor of both the maple and cinnamon. I read all of the very helpful reviews posted here and made three batches today. Here are my changes: drop the sugar down to 3/4 cup, add a pinch of salt, up the baking soda to 1/2 tsp, weigh the flour making sure you only have only 9 oz and add it by hand, use butter and make it an extra large egg. I rolled the cookie in 5 oz of white sugar mixed with 1/2 tsp cinnamon (this could be reduced as I had a fair bit left over). Only cook for 8 minutes in a very well pre-heated oven. The cookies will not look done but will set nicely and if you turn them over they should be quite nicely browned on the bottom. They will puffed up when cooked but will sink as they cool. This recipe usually gets me around 30 - 32 cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cesson

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
These are heavenly... Next time I think I'll use all maple sugar for rolling the balls in, I'd like more of a maple flavor...The only change I made was using all butter as I never have margarine in the house... this is probably why mine turned out more crispy than chewy... overall great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
I made these for a work "food day" and they were a hit. I did use real maple syrup but my closest grocer didn't stock maple sugar so I went with the sugar/cinnamon topping. They were still worth five stars, so I can't imagine how great they would be with maple sugar! The cookies were done after 8 minutes even though they looked a little doughy, so I suggest taking them out even if you feel unsure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
I was a little nervous these might be too sweet. Living in Vermont, we know a thing or two about the taste of maple syrup. However, it is very subtle but tasty, similarly to the taste of chocolate chip cookies without the chocolate. If you are looking for a strong maple flavor, be sure to add more syrup than the recipe specifies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
Excellent! Like many others, I didn't have any maple sugar, and couldn't find it. So I used the cinnamon sugar to roll them in. They turned out delicious! I'm going to find some maple sugar for the next batch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RWC4520

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Falling Waters, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by 6MOUTHS
Reviewed: May 22, 2012
Delicious! Instead of the sugar/maple sugar coating, I drizzled them with a maple glaze by melting 1 Tbsp unsalted butter and 2 Tbsps real maple syrup in a small saucepan then whisking in 1/2 c powdered sugar until smooth. I will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 6MOUTHS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
Amazing! These cookies were the perfect combination of sweet and subtle, crunchy outside and chewy inside. I can't stop eating them. I couldn't find maple sugar, but brown sugar is fine as a substitute. Nor did I use actual maple syrup, but the regular (cheaper) syrup works just as well. Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anguye52

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
SO GOOD! I followed the advice of the highest rated review and they came out amazing! Stayed soft for a week, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
excellent. I did not have maple sugar but did have maple flavoring so I made the maple sugar by mixing 1/2 cup raw sugar and 2 t. maple flavoring-used mixer. Other changes I made because I had the ingredients on hand were butter instead of margarine and raw sugar instead of white.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mandxxx
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
Gorgeous! I wasn't really sure what to expect as i have never had a snickerdoodle before but they were delicious. The maple and cinnamon were there but not overpowering. I rolled them in vanilla sugar as I was not really sure what maple sugar is. I will definitely be saving this recipe and making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mandxxx

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 268) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mrs. Sigg's Snickerdoodles

If you love cookies with crispy edges and soft centers, these are for you.

Snickerdoodles I

These classic, top-rated snickerdoodles are rolled in cinnamon sugar.

Ultimate Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make classic chocolate-chip cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States