Ultimate Maple Snickerdoodles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
I could not have been more disappointed. Maple Syrup and Maple Sugar are very expensive and my cookies had NO maple flavor at all! I had 8 friends and family do a what flavor is this taste test, not one of them guessed maple. The only reason I gave this recipe a 2 rating is because they were really easy to make and everyone liked the soft consistancy of the cookie . I'll try the recipe again but with some good maple extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
I didn't use maple sugar, but the taste was very good. However, my didn't spread out and stayed in tiny balls, so they looked kind of weird.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by soyduck
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
Tasty! I also ended up using sugar & cinnamon instead of maple sugar. I was disappointed that I couldn't track down maple sugar in time for the holidays. But, these still turned out wonderful. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soyduck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eastlake, Ohio, USA
Living In: Rittman, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
OMG!!! These are awesome. I am not a baker at all and everyone who has had them loves them!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Beth Cohen-Tribbie
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
Loved these! I used butter instead of margarine b/c I don't buy margarine. I did not have maple sugar so I just rolled them in white sugar. You could taste both the maple and the cinnamon (I used Saigon cinnamon) but neither were overpowering. I brought them to work and they were a hit! I thought these were fantastic and I will make these again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth Cohen-Tribbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
WOW! I love these cookies! From the very first batch everyone I know just wants me to make more and more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grimm_Curse
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
Don't know what happened, but my cookies came out kind of dry and crumbly. I also had to press them down before baking, otherwise they stayed in a ball, and did not really spread out and crack like they were supposed to. Did not remind me of the snickerdoodles I had as a kid. Won't make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alyson_a

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
oooh, so yummy! Very much like your favorite snickerdoodle: buttery, tender, slightly chewy treat...with a hint of maple. Amazing! I found maple sugar for $14 at Whole Foods, but was MUCH more than I needed. Ended up finding/buying at a small farmers market. It adds a nice light crunch, a little texture, and nice extra hit of maple. If you really can't find maple sugar, at least sprinkle with Turbinado or Sugar in the Raw. Next time I might do more maple syrup in the batter; I love maple! Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
Added more maple
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
These cookies were disappointing. I used maple sugar and even added additional maple syrup, but the maple flavor was not especially obvious. Worse yet, the cookies were too floury and dry. I won't make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie Barnes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 269) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mrs. Sigg's Snickerdoodles

If you love cookies with crispy edges and soft centers, these are for you.

Snickerdoodles I

These classic, top-rated snickerdoodles are rolled in cinnamon sugar.

Ultimate Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make classic chocolate-chip cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States