Ultimate Maple Snickerdoodles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
I could not have been more disappointed. Maple Syrup and Maple Sugar are very expensive and my cookies had NO maple flavor at all! I had 8 friends and family do a what flavor is this taste test, not one of them guessed maple. The only reason I gave this recipe a 2 rating is because they were really easy to make and everyone liked the soft consistancy of the cookie . I'll try the recipe again but with some good maple extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
I didn't use maple sugar, but the taste was very good. However, my didn't spread out and stayed in tiny balls, so they looked kind of weird.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by soyduck
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
Tasty! I also ended up using sugar & cinnamon instead of maple sugar. I was disappointed that I couldn't track down maple sugar in time for the holidays. But, these still turned out wonderful. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soyduck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eastlake, Ohio, USA
Living In: Rittman, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
OMG!!! These are awesome. I am not a baker at all and everyone who has had them loves them!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Beth Cohen-Tribbie
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
Loved these! I used butter instead of margarine b/c I don't buy margarine. I did not have maple sugar so I just rolled them in white sugar. You could taste both the maple and the cinnamon (I used Saigon cinnamon) but neither were overpowering. I brought them to work and they were a hit! I thought these were fantastic and I will make these again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth Cohen-Tribbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
WOW! I love these cookies! From the very first batch everyone I know just wants me to make more and more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grimm_Curse
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
Don't know what happened, but my cookies came out kind of dry and crumbly. I also had to press them down before baking, otherwise they stayed in a ball, and did not really spread out and crack like they were supposed to. Did not remind me of the snickerdoodles I had as a kid. Won't make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alyson_a

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
oooh, so yummy! Very much like your favorite snickerdoodle: buttery, tender, slightly chewy treat...with a hint of maple. Amazing! I found maple sugar for $14 at Whole Foods, but was MUCH more than I needed. Ended up finding/buying at a small farmers market. It adds a nice light crunch, a little texture, and nice extra hit of maple. If you really can't find maple sugar, at least sprinkle with Turbinado or Sugar in the Raw. Next time I might do more maple syrup in the batter; I love maple! Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
Added more maple
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
These cookies were disappointing. I used maple sugar and even added additional maple syrup, but the maple flavor was not especially obvious. Worse yet, the cookies were too floury and dry. I won't make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie Barnes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 269) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mrs. Sigg's Snickerdoodles

If you love cookies with crispy edges and soft centers, these are for you.

Snickerdoodles I

These classic, top-rated snickerdoodles are rolled in cinnamon sugar.

Ultimate Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make classic chocolate-chip cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States