Ultimate Lemon Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2002
I don't know what either of the other reviewers are talking about. The sugar IS listed in cups, not teaspoons. My cake rose just fine. Plus, if you either reheat the cake pain in a sink of hot tap water for about 30 seconds and then tap it out, it comes out easily. To make it even easier, just use parchment to line the bottom of the cake pan before you butter and flour it. ANY good baker knows both of these tricks and I can only assume the other people who have reviewed the cake don't bake very often, or at least they don't bake cakes. This recipe was exquisite, very lemony, and rich. If you don't like as much lemon, just use 1/4 cup milk in place of the lemon juice in the cake recipe and you'll essentially have a white cake to use with the lemon filling and glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2004
This is my favorite lemon cake. I've only had it stick to the bundt pan once, but I think it was because I didn't remove it as soon as I was supposed to. The several other times I've made it, it has been fantastic. Use real lemons for ultimate flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DRQUINN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Normal, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2002
This is the absolute best lemon cake I have every put in my mouth. I have to agree, I don't know what the negative reviews are about. The first time I made the cake, I did have a problem with it falling out in pieces. But the cake was so delectable every morsel was eaten. I found the cake very time consuming, but DEFINITELY worth it!!!!!!!! Thanks for the wonderful recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
I don't know why the other reviewers were having problems. IT turned out wonderfully! If you don't like it real lemony then try putting on less frosting or glaze. I love lemon stuff though and it was PERFECT! I was on a bit of a tight schedule so instead of putting it in the fridge for two hours I put it in the freezer for about forty five minuets. It didn't fall part or crumble at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MKAnthony

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2003
This recipe is superb and the reviewers who had trouble with it were probably not following the directions. I used a commercial oil-flour spray rather than butter and flour and the cake came out of the Bundt pan neatly and well. The glaze is delicious and I have made this cake several times with no problems whatsoever. As for its density, I was very pleased with it and thought the cake was perfectly moist and delectible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2007
Best lemon cake I've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Gardena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2004
We do a food network night (my kids and I)and my 11 year old son who is disabled especially enjoys it. He won the cake contest with this recipe. It was great, moist, lemony and tasty. My neice asked me to make it for her wedding party. If you had a negative experience with this, you should remember that over mixing, adding ingredients in the wrong sequence or not correctly measuring some ingredients can totally change the outcome of a recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2003
I don't know what the negative reviews are about either. I don't consider myself a fantastic baker (mediocre at best), but this cake was quite simple to make and turned out flawless! One thing I did, though, was let the cake cool too long in the pan (by accident) and then poured the hot glaze on top. I had no trouble whatsoever removing this moist cake from the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2006
This cake came out fluffy and light - and with a great lemon taste. I used splenda for baking for the sugar - even the confectioners sugar - just put it in the blender until it was powdered! My husband, the real lemon lover of the family, and my son enjoyed this cake. I highly recommend it if you like lemon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Union City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Negaunee, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
I made this recipe because my husband and father are both huge lemon fans. I followed the recipe exactly and had no problems. It definitely has a lot of lemon flavor and got a big thumbs up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sumas, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Lemon Cupcakes

See how to make light, lemony cupcakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States