Ultimate Lemon Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2004
This was so-so. In my husband's words, he said it tasted like flour. The cake was very dry, with little pockets of moistness. About the only thing that tasted lemony was the glaze and icing (which were pretty much the same thing, so why the extra step?). I was in need of a sweet fic and this wasn't it. I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2004
This is my favorite lemon cake. I've only had it stick to the bundt pan once, but I think it was because I didn't remove it as soon as I was supposed to. The several other times I've made it, it has been fantastic. Use real lemons for ultimate flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DRQUINN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Normal, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2003
I made this as a surprise for my sister who loves lemon cake. I followed the directions precisely and the cake did everything it was supposed to do. No problem getting it out of the pan. But going by what my sister says, I didn't have any of it, but she said it was too dense. Could be used as a nice lemony boat anchor. (Hey, she said it- not me!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2003
This recipe is superb and the reviewers who had trouble with it were probably not following the directions. I used a commercial oil-flour spray rather than butter and flour and the cake came out of the Bundt pan neatly and well. The glaze is delicious and I have made this cake several times with no problems whatsoever. As for its density, I was very pleased with it and thought the cake was perfectly moist and delectible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2003
this cake was easy to make and a great lemon flavor. I took it to work and it was gone by lunch time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2003
I often have clients request "lemony" cakes in my home dessert business. I have several "old reliable" recipes, but I was intrigued by this recipe. I made the cake 3 times as an experiment with friends & clients & the response was consistent (& I agree): the lemon flavor is good, but the cake is way too dense (egg yolks versus whole eggs). The cake was easy to make & I didn't have any problems with the cake coming out of the bundt or tube pan. I always use Baker's Joy spray (plus parchment paper for tube pans) & never have problems. I did like the glaze and decided to use it with another recipe on this site. I modified the Kentucky Butter Cake recipe and then glazed the cake with the lemon glaze from this recipe. The result was good--a lemony cake that was moist and not too dense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2003
I don't know what the negative reviews are about either. I don't consider myself a fantastic baker (mediocre at best), but this cake was quite simple to make and turned out flawless! One thing I did, though, was let the cake cool too long in the pan (by accident) and then poured the hot glaze on top. I had no trouble whatsoever removing this moist cake from the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2002
This is the absolute best lemon cake I have every put in my mouth. I have to agree, I don't know what the negative reviews are about. The first time I made the cake, I did have a problem with it falling out in pieces. But the cake was so delectable every morsel was eaten. I found the cake very time consuming, but DEFINITELY worth it!!!!!!!! Thanks for the wonderful recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2002
I don't know what either of the other reviewers are talking about. The sugar IS listed in cups, not teaspoons. My cake rose just fine. Plus, if you either reheat the cake pain in a sink of hot tap water for about 30 seconds and then tap it out, it comes out easily. To make it even easier, just use parchment to line the bottom of the cake pan before you butter and flour it. ANY good baker knows both of these tricks and I can only assume the other people who have reviewed the cake don't bake very often, or at least they don't bake cakes. This recipe was exquisite, very lemony, and rich. If you don't like as much lemon, just use 1/4 cup milk in place of the lemon juice in the cake recipe and you'll essentially have a white cake to use with the lemon filling and glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2001
This recipe is very flawed. The amount of sugar is incorrect - it should be CUPS instead of teaspoons (big difference!). And, the other reviewer mentioned that the glaze glues the cake to the pan. It certainly does. On top of it, the acidity in the lemon effectively cancels out the baking powder and it doesn't rise at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Lemon Cupcakes

See how to make light, lemony cupcakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States