Ultimate Lemon Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2007
Best lemon cake I've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Gardena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2007
cornbread and lemons don't make for the ultimate cake to me! This recipe was a let-down. The icing was too sweet and the cake was dry and gross and I followed the recipe to a tee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
I made this recipe because my husband and father are both huge lemon fans. I followed the recipe exactly and had no problems. It definitely has a lot of lemon flavor and got a big thumbs up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sumas, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Donna
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2006
Very lemony flavor. I've made this cake twice. The first time,in a rush,I didn't wait the full hour cooling time. The cake fell apart coming out of the pan because the center was still hot. (But it tasted yummy so if at first you don't succeed...:) Second try I added an additional 1/2 cup sugar and 1/4 cup more lemon juice to the cake. Before pouring on the hot glaze I used a metal skewer to poke holes in the cake. This allowed the hot glaze to soak more evenly into the cake. I cooled the cake in the pan 1 hour according to directions, ran a butter knife around the sides of the pan before turning and it came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2006
I made the cake according to the recipe, except I used (2.75 cups) cake flour instead of all-purpose, since I find it usually produces a lighter, better textured cake. I also added a tablespoon of lemon zest. The cake was done in 50 minutes, so I took it out a little early. Next time, as others suggested, I will use 4 eggs instead of the 8 yolks. Also, I will use much less glaze--just too sweet! However, I had no problems removing it from the pan, and it was nicely textured. It disappeared quickly, so we liked it fine, but with a few changes, it will be better suited to my family's tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by METERMAID

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pompano Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2006
Had no problem with getting this cake out of the pan, but the glazing and then the drizzling of frosting was just way too much sugar. I would recommend leaving off the glaze part and just putting on the final drizzle of frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Philip, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2006
I think this is one of the worst lemon cakes I have ever made. I have tried doctoring the recipe, but it is stiff, dense, lacking taste...vanilla and lemon don't do well together. I would like to warn you that there are much better recipes out there, especially the lemon cake in the Silver Palette Book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Paradise Valley, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2006
This cake came out fluffy and light - and with a great lemon taste. I used splenda for baking for the sugar - even the confectioners sugar - just put it in the blender until it was powdered! My husband, the real lemon lover of the family, and my son enjoyed this cake. I highly recommend it if you like lemon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Union City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Negaunee, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2004
We do a food network night (my kids and I)and my 11 year old son who is disabled especially enjoys it. He won the cake contest with this recipe. It was great, moist, lemony and tasty. My neice asked me to make it for her wedding party. If you had a negative experience with this, you should remember that over mixing, adding ingredients in the wrong sequence or not correctly measuring some ingredients can totally change the outcome of a recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2004
This is a really Lemony-eggy cake. I did not like this cake. It was easy to make and it was beautiful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cj5380

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Lemon Cupcakes

See how to make light, lemony cupcakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States